Review: At Home in Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong

At Home in Last Chance At Home in Last Chance is book three in the A Place to Call Home series. It was so good to get back to this small town in New Mexico and catch up with the residents from past books. If you have not read the other books in the series, don’t worry, this book can stand alone.

What I really enjoyed, having read the other two books, is seeing things from Kaitlyn Reed’s and Steven Braden’s perspectives. It was amusing to watch a scene play out and view either Kaitlyn or Steven’s frustration with the way their extended family treats them. Having read the other two books, I knew that the family members reacted to them in the manner they did because of the way both of these characters had behaved in the past. This book did a great job of showing how people can change.

I honestly did not like either of these two characters when they showed up in small roles in the previous books. They had some pretty big character flaws. However, the author really did a good job of writing a story where they both grew up and became much more responsible. I ended up changing my opinions about both Kaitlyn and Steven by about halfway through the story. Along with the character growth of these two people, we see that it takes awhile for their close family to truly believe that they have changed their ways. While it may be frustrating, that is very truthful writing.

The one thing that I would have really liked to have seen in this book is an epilogue. I do not want to spoil anything about the story, so I will not put details. However, an epilogue would have made the story feel a little more neatly tied up in the end for me. But, this was still a very enjoyable book. (4 stars)

I would like to express my thanks to Revell for the complimentary copy I received in exchange for an honest review.

In case you have not read the series, the first book, Welcome to Last Chance Welcome to Last Chance, is currently free on Kindle and Nook.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

At Home in Last Chance

Kaitlyn Reed and Steven Braden have always had a similar philosophy of life: when the going gets tough, they get going–out of town and away from the problem. Now they are both back in Last Chance, New Mexico, and trying to start over. Kaitlyn is working to reestablish a relationship with the seven-year-old daughter she left behind six months earlier. Steven is trying to prove to his family that he is not the irresponsible charmer they have always known him to be. As Kaitlyn and Steven find themselves drawn to one another, one big question keeps getting in the way: How will they learn to trust each other when they don’t even trust themselves?

With emotional depth and characters who leap off the page and into the reader’s psyche, Cathleen Armstrong continues to delight her readers and win new fans. Readers will be thrilled to return once more to the small town they’ve grown to love.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Cathleen-Armstrong-II-199x300

Cathleen Armstrong is the author of Welcome to Last Chance, winner of the ACFW Genesis Award for Women’s Fiction in 2009 and the first volume in the series “A Place to Call Home.” She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, Ed, and their corgi, but her roots remain deep in New Mexico where she grew up and where much of her family still lives.

You can connect with Cathleen on her website, Goodreads, Facebook, & Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Home-Last-Chance-Place-Call-ebook/dp/B00MBTY49G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1422397137&sr=8-1&keywords=at+home+in+last+chance

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: At Home in Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong

  1. I agree completely with your review. I think the author did a fantastic job of portraying the real emotions, reactions, and actions of each of the characters and that made the book more enjoyable. I am so glad the first book is currently free, as it’s the only one in the series I haven’t read! Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

