The Matchmaker Blog Tour – Special Guest Post by Sarah Price & Book Giveaway!

matchmaker-blog-tour

Hi Brittany and thanks for inviting me to hop on over to your blog!

Last week, The Matchmaker, the second book in my Amish Classics series, was released. It is the retelling of Jane Austen’s classic book, Emma. So I’m especially glad to be able to be here and talk about this book, one of my personal favorites.

Based in an Amish setting, my Emma follows the same trials and tribulations of Jane Austen’s Emma. She thinks a little too highly of herself and those around her. She is quite happy to express her opinions, often when she shouldn’t. Personally, I love Emma as a character because she is so real. Let’s face it…she’s flawed. Aren’t we all? But her flaws get her into a few situations that will make the reader chuckle. That’s the best part of retelling Jane Austen’s novels: She had the greatest characters!

Reading classic literature—such as Jane Austen, the Bronte Sisters, Charles Dickens, and Victor Hugo, to name a few—can be a daunting task. Many of us were forced to read one of these authors’ books in English class during our high school years. As adults, many of us prefer lighter reads to balance our stressful lives as we juggle home, family, and work. Picking up a classic book might not be at the top of our TBR pile.

Yet, there is something intellectually stimulating about the classics that is missing in many of these lighter reads. Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors. Her writing style is brilliant, her attention to detail is amazing, and her character development is second to none. So I decided to challenge myself and retell Jane Austen’s book in an Amish setting, combining the Amish culture and religion with a Jane Austen style of writing and story-telling.

With the Amish Classics series (First Impressions and The Matchmaker), I wanted to provide more than a great, authentic experience for the reader; I wanted to also provide quality literature while introducing my readers to a higher level of reading. It has been my hope that after reading my versions, many of them would be curious and want to read Austen’s books.

The Matchmaker

If you would like to learn more about The Matchmaker and visit other tour stops here is the link to take you to the Blog Tour List.

GIVEAWAY

Sarah Price is graciously offering a copy of The Matchmaker to one commenter on this blog post. Please see below for contest rules.

CONTEST GUIDELINES: Please leave a comment and your email address using [at] and [dot] to protect your email address. Giveaways are limited to residents of the continental US only, please. I am not responsible for loss or damage through the postal service. Winners have one week to claim their prizes.

Optional: For additional chances to win this giveaway, share this contest through social media sites, and sign up to follow my blog (or remind me that you are a follower). Please let me know what you did for extra chances to win.

Contest begins on 2/10/15 and ends on 2/16/15. Winner will be announced on my blog on 2/17/15 and will receive an email. Winners have one week to claim their prize.

Thanks in advance to all those who comment and enter the giveaway! You are greatly appreciated! And don’t forget to check back tomorrow and read my review of The Matchmaker by Sarah Price. I am a huge Jane Austen fan…so see what I thought of this unique combination of Amish & Austen. 😉

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

sarahs-bio

The Preiss family emigrated from Europe in 1705, settling in Pennsylvania as the area’s first wave of Mennonite families. Sarah Price has always respected and honored her ancestors through exploration and research about her family history and their religion. At nineteen, she befriended an Amish family and lived on their farm throughout the years.

As a masterful storyteller, Sarah Price prides herself on presenting an authentic Amish experience for her readers. Many of her stories are based on actual people she has met and her own experiences living among the Amish over the years. Sarah now resides in Morris County, New Jersey with her family.

While she started out as an Indie author, she signed on with Realms, an imprint of Charisma House and Waterfall Press, an imprint of Brilliance Publishing. Her first book, First Impressions: An Amish Adaptation of Pride and Prejudice was released in May 2014.

Get the latest news about Sarah Price on Facebook, Twitter, and sarahpriceauthor.com.

Please use these buy links: Amazon / B&N / Christianbook.com

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to The Matchmaker Blog Tour – Special Guest Post by Sarah Price & Book Giveaway!

  1. Carrie S. says:

    I am so excited to read this – such a unique idea for a book! carriemschmidt (at) gmail (dot) com

  2. Carrie S. says:

    I’m a blog follower – carriemschmidt (at) gmail (dot) com

  3. I’m intrigued. I definitely want to read this. I’m a blog follower as well. cindybazzy(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. I’d love to read this. I’m a blog follower.
    tumcsec(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. sonja1971 says:

    I follow your blog and I would love to win this book! I have had my eye on it for quite a while because it sounds really good! sonja dot nishimoto at gmail dot com

  6. Pingback: The Matchmaker Blog Tour – Special Guest Post by Sarah Price & Book Giveaway! | corgie40

  7. corgie40 says:

    So very excited to have a chance to win this book! I have shares on FB, Twitter, and word press.
    tsheroke(at)sbcglobal(dot)net

  8. Rita Navarre says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! Sounds like a great read….I am a blog follower..
    rita dot navarre at yahoo dot com

  9. D K Stevens says:

    I follow & would enjoy reading this book!
    dkstevensne(at) outlook(dot) com

  10. Kim Hampton says:

    I would love to win this book!
    myfacebookemail23 at yahoo dot com

  11. Melanie Backus says:

    This book sounds like a winner to me! I would love to read it.
    I am a follower!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  12. Wow, what a wonderful idea for a book, can’t wait to read it. I am a follower.
    ckasper49(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. Paula Osborne says:

    Hi Brittney, love to read the amish stories and this one looks great based on “Emma” of Jane Austen…I definately want to read this one. Thanks Sarah for stopping by this blog and sharing your book with us.
    stopping over from Goodreads which Brittney and I share thoughts from time to time.

  14. Joan Arning says:

    Like the chance to win books! jarning67(at)hotmail(dot)com

  15. Kate Voss says:

    I love the Amish twist on Jane Austen! And, I’d also love a chance to win!

    kathrynlvoss(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. Kate Voss says:

    I follow your blog too
    kathrynlvoss(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Nat says:

    Love books! Thanks for posting! mandn(at)wisper(dash)wireless(dot)com

  18. I follow your blog. Sarah Price books are great reads. I would very much enjoy reading this since the genre Amish is my favorite.

    Deanne Patterson Cnnamongirl(at)aol(dot)com

  19. Loraine N. says:

    I am really looking forward to reading this one! I like the story of Emma and having the Amish twist sounds interesting. Thanks for the giveaway! momrain(AT)aol(DOT)com. I follow your blog and have shared this on my twitter account (@lorainenunley) and my pinterest account (Loraine Nunley).

  20. Karen Clinton says:

    I definitely want to read this book and hope I’m your winner. I follow your blog and will share on Facebook.
    Karen Clinton oakmkb@aol.com

  21. Shelia Hall says:

    Love to win Sarah’s book!sheliarha64(at)yahoo(dot)com

  22. Diane EStrella says:

    Love the throwback to Emma. This looks like a winner!

    Diane
    dianemestrella at gmail dot com

  23. Looking forward to reading this story! Christina christina_moxley(at)yahoo(dot)com

  24. Beth C says:

    I’m really looking forward to reading this book. Thanks for the chance to win it!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  25. I’d love to read my first book by this author! Thanks for the giveaway!
    susanlulu@yahoo.com

  26. Tiffany says:

    Would love to win! Thanks for the chance to win! Shared on facebook.
    jtabalk(at)hotmail(dot)(com)

  27. Trixi O. says:

    I love Jane Austen & have also read quite a few of Julie Klaussen’s books (Regency period). But to have it put into Amish would make for some interesting reading! I think I would very much enjoy it. Thank you for a chance to win a copy of “The Matchmaker”!
    I have shared this on both Facebook & Pinterest (Trixi Oberembt) & am a subscriber to your blog
    teamob4 (at) gmail (dot) com

  28. Dawn Crandall says:

    I always love a good retelling of any classic. 🙂 dawncrandallwritesfirst@gmail.com

  29. Judith A Fritz says:

    I have read a lot of your books and I can honestly say there isn’t one of them that I have not liked! I am looking forward to reading The Matchmaker!! Judy F

  30. Judith A Fritz says:

    I shared on FB. Please enter me again in your contest. Judy F

  31. Judith A Fritz says:

    I shared on Twitter!! Please enter me again in your contest. Judy F

  32. This sounds so good. Love how you can take what happens in every day life and make it interesting.

  33. Merry says:

    This sounds like a fun book. Sarah is a new author to me and I love Amish fiction.

  34. Merry says:

    I follow your blog by e mail

  35. Terri says:

    I would love to read this book. Thanks for the giveaway ! Snowh8er at aol dot com

  36. Pingback: Review: The Matchmaker by Sarah Price | Britt Reads Fiction

  37. Kim Hampton says:

    I would love to win a copy that I could read and then share with my friend!
    myfacebookemail23 at yahoo dot com

  38. Barbara says:

    really would love to win this book………..Hope winning her last book doesnt stop me from winning this one………..Love her books

  39. ajwbear says:

    would really love to win this book with your autograph in it.
    ajwbearatyahoo.com

  40. Tina Wyatt says:

    Tina Wyatt tkpw222@aol.com shared on fb. This sounds like a really good book , can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

