Review: The Matchmaker by Sarah Price

The Matchmaker When I saw that Sarah Price was releasing an Amish Classics series of books, it really caught my attention. Jane Austen’s books and the movies that have been made about the stories are some of my favorites ever. I was very hopeful that combining two of my favorite types of books would create a story that I loved. And I was not disappointed! See below for a chance to win a copy of The Matchmaker.

First Impressions is book one in the series and is the Amish story of Pride and Prejudice. I have purchased this book and hope to read it soon. The Matchmaker is the Amish retelling of Emma and I absolutely adored this book! Second Chances is the third book in the series and is the Amish version of Persuasion. Second Chances will be releasing later this year and I am looking forward to it because Jane Austen’s Persuasion is one of my very favorite books of all.

The author has done such a great job of combining the basic storyline of Emma into an Amish setting. The way the story is told just makes sense. I really loved that the book retains the same feeling as reading a Jane Austen novel. The depth of emotion, range of characters, and situations that Emma gets herself into kept my attention from page one until the very ending of the story.

Sweet, meddling Emma…when will she learn? She has such a good heart, caring for your aging father and other widows in the community. However, she is a bit stubborn and things get quite mixed up when she begins her matchmaking attempts. Many life lessons are learned by Emma in this wonderful story. I enjoyed her character and appreciated the way that she grew throughout the story. The other characters in the book were similarly well-written. Gideon, the family friend that Emma has known since birth, was the epitome of a strong and wise Amish man in the community. I enjoyed getting to know him in this story and watching his transformation throughout the book, as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed this charming story and look forward to reading the other books in this series. (5 stars)

I would like to thank the author for the complimentary ebook that I received in exchange for an honest review.

***Yesterday, Sarah Price was a visited my blog with a guest post and the opportunity to win a paperback copy of The Matchmaker. You can read her post here
and comment on either her blog post or on this post will enter you for a chance to win the book. Open to US residents only and the giveaway ends on 2/16/15. Winner will be announced on the blog and emailed on 2/17/15.***

matchmaker-blog-tour

If you would like to learn more about The Matchmaker and visit other tour stops here is the link to take you to the Blog Tour List.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Matchmaker

When Emma’s interference in her friends’ lives backfires, will the consequences be more than she bargained for?

Set in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, The Matchmaker is an Amish retelling of Emma and covers the same issues of love, relationships, and pride within the community.

SERIES DESCRIPTION: The Amish Classics series is a retelling of novels by Jane Austen in a contemporary Amish setting. The main story lines are accurately followed but told within the Amish culture and religion. These stories will introduce readers of Amish romances to these classics, while also being attractive to Jane Austen’s many loyal fans.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

sarahs-bio

If you would like to learn more about The Matchmaker and visit other tour stops here is the link to take you to the Blog Tour List.

The Preiss family emigrated from Europe in 1705, settling in Pennsylvania as the area’s first wave of Mennonite families. Sarah Price has always respected and honored her ancestors through exploration and research about her family history and their religion. At nineteen, she befriended an Amish family and lived on their farm throughout the years.
As a masterful storyteller, Sarah Price prides herself on presenting an authentic Amish experience for her readers. Many of her stories are based on actual people she has met and her own experiences living among the Amish over the years. Sarah now resides in Morris County, New Jersey with her family.
While she started out as an Indie author, she signed on with Realms, an imprint of Charisma House and Waterfall Press, an imprint of Brilliance Publishing. Her first book, First Impressions: An Amish Adaptation of Pride and Prejudice was released in May 2014.

Get the latest news about Sarah Price on Facebook, Twitter, and sarahpriceauthor.com.

Please use these buy links: Amazon / B&N / Christianbook.com

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: The Matchmaker by Sarah Price

  1. Kim Hampton says:

    I would love to win a copy! I could read and pass along to my friend, who also loves Amish books!

  2. I’m embarrassed to say I have not read Jane Austen’s Emma. I would be thrilled to win this book and maybe it will convince me to read more of Jane Austen, also. Her books are on my Nook. Thank you for this giveaway opportunity!

  3. sonja1971 says:

    This book sounds so fun and I have been keeping my eye on this one. A definite book I want to read and review! sonja dot nishimoto at gmail dot com

  4. Barbara Thompson says:

    Sarah Price has recently caught my attention. I haven’t read any of her books yet, they sound fantastic. I love Amish fiction and would love to read one of Sarah Price’s books. Thanks for the opportunity of this giveaway.

  5. I LOVE Jane Austen. She is one of my all time favorite authors. I’d love for a chance to win! 😀

    Shannah @ Faith * Love * Books
    smmcclamrock(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

