Review: Deadly Echoes by Nancy Mehl

Deadly Echoes Deadly Echoes is a very nice addition to the Finding Sanctuary series. It is a stand alone novel. If you have read the first book, you will see a few returning characters, however, it is not necessary to have read Gathering Shadows to enjoy Deadly Echoes.

I found Deadly Echoes to be a very enjoyable, suspenseful novel. It has a light romance running throughout, however, the growing attraction between the two main characters is not the focus of the book. Instead, the storyline focuses on Sarah’s work to uncover what truly happened to her recently murdered older sister. I enjoyed watching Sarah uncover the clues and similarities between her sister’s murder and the murder of their parents that occurred when the girls were just children.

Sarah was a likeable character. She is strong and determined, yet struggles with a low self-image. She has overcome many sad and hurtful things in her life, yet stays focused on God and is determined to help her young niece know that she is loved. I also liked Paul Gleason. He is a returning character from the first book in the series and I was glad to see him again. He is strong, dependable, and willing to help Sarah however she needs.

Although I must admit that I did have a pretty good idea early on about the identity of the villain in the story, it was still a truly enjoyable suspense from the first page to the last. And I still had quite a bit to discover as to why these murders happened at all. This was a very good suspense. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Deadly Echoes

After a youth filled with tragedy and upheaval, Sarah Miller’s life is finally settled with all echoes of the past silent at last. She happily calls Sanctuary her home and spends her days teaching at the local school.

Sarah’s joy at her recent reunion with her sister, Hannah, and meeting the niece she didn’t know she had is too soon interrupted when Deputy Sheriff Paul Gleason informs Sarah her sister has been killed.

As she learns more about Hannah’s death, the circumstances are eerily similar to their parents’ murder. Sarah enlists Paul’s help in digging deeper into the murders the police are dismissing as burglaries gone wrong. Paul’s concern encourages Sarah’s growing feelings for him, but as their investigation peels back the layers of lies almost twenty years old, they get close to uncovering the truth one person will do anything to hide–even if that means coming after the last remaining members of the Miller family.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Authors48

Nancy Mehl lives in Festus, Missouri with her husband Norman and her very active puggle, Watson. She’s authored over twenty-one books and is currently at work on her newest series for Bethany House Publishing.

All of Nancy’s novels have an added touch – something for your spirit as well as your soul. “I welcome the opportunity to share my faith through my writing,” Nancy says. “God is number one in my life. I wouldn’t be writing at all if I didn’t believe that this is what He’s called me to do. I hope everyone who reads my books will walk away with the most important message I can give them: God is good, and He loves you more than you can imagine. He has a good plan for your life, and there is nothing you can’t overcome with His help.”

Nancy is represented by agent Steve Laube –http://stevelaube.com/

You can connect with Nancy at http://nancylmehl.blogspot.com/ and at http://suspensesisters.blogspot.com/ as well as on Facebook and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Deadly-Echoes-Finding-Sanctuary-Book-ebook/dp/B00MBTYFCW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1426186795&sr=1-1&keywords=deadly+echoes

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

