Review: Saving Justice by Susan Crawford

Saving Justice I found Saving Justice to be an interesting story that flowed well. The characters of Nash, Kinley, Justice, and Cade all had significant events in their histories that molded them each into the people they are in the story.

I have to admit that it took me awhile to warm up to these characters. Even though I enjoyed the story, I wasn’t always on the same wavelength with the characters and the decisions they were making! But it was still a fun read. I wondered if Cade was on the up and up. I had trouble seeing past Justice’s bad behavior and attitude in order to see what Kinley saw when she looked at him. Kinley seemed naïve and overly optimistic for most of the novel, even seeming to discount the danger to herself. After having lost a brother to gang violence, I did think she would realize that the danger was real. I liked Nash best of all, although he had his own control issues and anger to work through.

I thought that the writing was good and that the story flowed. I didn’t always agree with the decisions made by the various characters, but as I continued reading, things did fall together nicely. Overall, it was an enjoyable story. The way the various characters changed and grew testified to how much God was moving in their lives. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Redbud Press in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Saving Justice

After losing her brother to gang-related violence, elementary schoolteacher Kinley is on a mission to help her at-risk students. When one of them, Justice, is caught in an act of vandalism, she intervenes.
Entrepreneur Nash McGuire has gone to great lengths to overcome the poverty he grew up in. When working on a renovation project in his old neighborhood he collides with a juvenile delinquent and his do-gooder teacher.
Kinley believes Justice can overcome the influence of his environment; Nash knows the odds and has little patience with Kinley’s naivety. But as the boy’s mandatory community service forces Justice and Kinley into Nash’s life, he can’t help but discover a boy searching for love and purpose–a boy very much like he once was.
Then Justice is accused of another crime. And Kinley’s stubborn belief in the boy’s innocence is just too much for Nash to accept…

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Susan Crawford

Susan Crawford is an author of inspirational contemporary romance, published by Redbud Press. Before publication, her debut novel, Saving Justice, was named a finalist in the 2014 American Christian Fiction Writers Genesis writing contest. Susan lives in Oklahoma City, where she happily crams writing in between being a wife, mom, and small business owner.

You can connect with Susan on her website, Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and Pinterest.

http://www.amazon.com/Saving-Justice-Heart-Hometown-Romance-ebook/dp/B00T3P5KLM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1428435288&sr=8-1&keywords=saving+justice+susan+crawford

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

