Review: The Creole Princess by Beth White

The Creole Princess The Creole Princess is the second book in the Gulf Coast Chronicles series, but is definitely a stand alone story. The first book, The Pelican Bride, takes place generations earlier than this book, so although the setting and family name is the same, the stories can be read independently.

I am once again amazed at how deeply this author pulls me into the setting of her story. It is set during the American Revolution, yet is a revolutionary story that is unlike any I have read before. The intricate relationships and the delicate political balance between the British forts, the French, and the Spanish in the Gulf area was intriguing. I found the mixture of cultures and skin colors and backgrounds to be fascinating. The social injustice of slavery is another interesting topic in the story.

I really liked Lyse Lanier and Rafa Gonzalez. Their attraction and the times they were together in the book were undoubtedly my favorite. The Creole Princess is full of so many deep characters and I enjoyed following their stories and their families’ backstories so much. There is really so much to this book and many threads are interwoven throughout the main story.

The only thing that bothered me a bit is that I wanted the end of the book to last a little longer. I felt rushed at the end and wanted to see more of Lyse and Rafa together, as well as be able to witness a few other happy reunions, too. But, all in all, this was a very gripping book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. (4.5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Creole Princess

All along the eastern seaboard, the American struggle for independence rages. In the British-held southern port of Mobile, Alabama, the conflict brewing is quieter–though no less deadly. The lovely Frenchwoman Lyse Lanier is best friends with the daughter of the British commander. Rafael Gonzalez is a charming young Spanish merchant with a secret mission and a shipment of gold to support General Washington. As their paths cross and their destinies become increasingly tangled, Lyse and Rafael must decide where their true loyalties lie–and somehow keep Lyse’s family from being executed as traitors to the British Crown.

With spectacular detail that brings the Colonial South alive, Beth White invites readers into a world of intrigue and espionage from a little-known side of the American Revolutionary War. Her richly textured settings and characters delight while fast pacing and closely held secrets will keep readers turning the pages.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Beth White

I grew up in the South, specifically North Mississippi, which has a rich tradition of fostering writers, storytellers, and musicians. I’m fond of both music and literature, so I amuse myself by teaching chorus and piano in an inner-city public high school by day, while conducting a secret life as a romance writer by night.

Anyway, I find myself, after more than half the years I’ve been alive, still married to my last college boyfriend. He still makes me laugh, he still gives me the warm fuzzies, and he still checks my tires, so I guess I’ll keep him. We somewhat successfully raised two young adults, who are both married and have begun producing amazing grandchildren. My cup runneth over.

Anyone who wants to know more about me should read my books and my blog. I am something of a hermit In Real Life, except in the classroom and on my computer, but I am very much interested in what makes my readers tick. And what ticks them off. And what makes them smile. So please email me here. I promise to answer.

You can also connect with Beth on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Creole-Princess-Gulf-Coast-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00MBTY4Z0/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1428877274&sr=1-1&keywords=creole+princess

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Creole Princess by Beth White

  1. meezcarrie says:

    great review! I’m looking forward to reading this book

  2. carylkane says:

    Hey Britt! Thanks for the great review! The Creole Princess sounds wonderful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

