Review: Kiss the Cowboy by Julie Jarnagin

kiss the cowboy Kiss the Cowboy was a fun and easy read that I just zoomed through! There is a prequel book, The Art of Falling, which is currently free on both Kindle and Nook. It is not necessary to read the prequel in order to enjoy Kiss the Cowboy, but it is a cute story and some of the characters do appear in this full-length novel. You can read my review of The Art of Falling here.

The author did a very good job of creating characters that I cared about. I liked Lucy, but she also aggravated me at times. She was a young woman who was clearly a talented cook and had big goals. But, the problem was, she always sought to gain the approval of her family. This became a fairly large problem as the book progressed. Her inability to think for herself and they way she let her family members direct her life nearly did her in!

Dylan was awesome! Although he had some recent hurts from his past, he shouldered on and was most concerned about helping his father to get things under control financially. Dylan was successful with ranching duties, as well as being a great cook. But, above all, the way he treated Lucy spoke volumes. There was conflict between these two, but Dylan did try his best to be an honorable person about things.

This was a fun, contemporary story that will be enjoyed by fans of not only cowboy stories, but foodies as well. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

kiss the cowboy

What if your competition for your dream job…was your dream man?

All Lucy Pickett needs to become executive chef in one of Dallas’s finest restaurants is to pull off the high-profile wedding she’s catering. So what if she’s forced to share duties with Dylan Lawson, a modern-day chuck-wagon cook? So what if he’s got rugged looks and cowboy charm? None of that is going to knock her off her game. Until she learns the restaurateur is considering Dylan for the position she wants. Game on—and it’s a winner-take-all event!

Dylan Lawson finally has the opportunity he’s been waiting for to prove he can do more than just be a ranch hand. The only thing standing in his way is the fiery chef fighting for the same position. Will the heated competition scorch any chance they have for love?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Julie Jarnagin

I’ve always loved a good story that leaves me feeling uplifted, and if it includes romance, even better.

That’s what led me on my journey to become a multi-published author of inspirational romance. I grew up in a small Oklahoma town where my family farmed and ranched. I went on to study Journalism / Professional Writing at the University of Oklahoma (Boomer Sooner!).

These days I live in a not-so-big city with my amazing husband and two young sons. Living in a house full of boys is a lot of fun, and they do a great job tolerating all my nerdy quirks. I’m a proud member of America Christian Fiction Writers, which is where I’ve met some truly wonderful people.

Now I’d love to get to know you. Let’s connect on Facebook, Twitter, or my blog.

Kiss the Cowboy kindle

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

