Review: Deadly Devotion by Sandra Orchard

Deadly Devotion Deadly Devotion is the first book in the Port Aster Secrets series and is also the first book that I have read by Sandra Orchard. I definitely enjoyed it and will be reading more of her books in the future.

The author had me, and the main characters, guessing and following different leads throughout the entire book! Kate and Tom truly had their hands full. There were so many people and potential motives that these two had to sort through.

Deadly Devotion really captured my interest. I was very surprised at the way the author kept the twists and turns going throughout the story. I did, eventually, figure out the culprit, but it was only a few pages before the reveal. She kept me guessing for almost the entire book.

Kate and Tom have the possibility of attraction and of a potential romance in Deadly Devotion. There was often angst between the two, as well. If only they can get over their suspicions of each other and learn to trust again. They both make some judgment errors about each other and that created some serious tension in portions of the story.

This storyline had a lot of interesting information about natural remedies and teas. I really enjoyed the extra details and I feel that those pieces of information enhanced the story and brought Kate’s passion for tinctures to life for me. I’m looking forward to book two and the continuation of this series. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Deadly Devotion is currently FREE (at the time of this posting) in ebook form. Order links are at the end of the post.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Deadly Devotion

Research scientist Kate Adams and her colleague Daisy are on the brink of a breakthrough for treating depression with herbal medicine when Daisy suddenly dies. Kate knows that if it hadn’t been for Daisy’s mentorship, she wouldn’t have the job she loves or the faith she clings to. So when police rule Daisy’s death a suicide, Kate is determined to unearth the truth.
Former FBI agent Tom Parker finds it hard to adjust to life back in his hometown of Port Aster. Though an old buddy gives him a job as a detective on the local police force, not everyone approves. Tom’s just trying to keep a low profile, so when Kate Adams demands he reopen the investigation of her friend’s death, he knows his job is at stake. In fact, despite his attraction to her, Tom thinks Kate looks a bit suspicious herself.
As evidence mounts, a web of intrigue is woven around the sleepy town of Port Aster. Can Kate uncover the truth? Or will Tom stand in her way?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sandra Orchard

Sandra Orchard is a multi-award-winning author of mysteries and romantic suspense with Revell Publishing and Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense imprint. She is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers, Romance Writers of America and The Word Guild (Canada). A mother of three grown children, she lives in Niagara, Canada with her real-life-hero husband and writes full time…when not doting on her young grandchildren.  Learn more about Sandra’s books and bonus features at www.SandraOrchard.com or connect at www.Facebook.com/SandraOrchard

Sandra is represented by Steve Laube of the Steve Laube Agency.

Deadly Devotion is currently free in ebook form!

Click on the links below to order:

Deadly DevotionKindle or Nook

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Deadly Devotion by Sandra Orchard

  1. Rissi says:

    I kind of remember reading this book. It was pretty good if I recall. Guess I should finish the series. At some point. So many books to read with so little time to do so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

