Review: Murder Freshly Baked by Vannetta Chapman

Murder Freshly Baked Time to settle in for another entertaining, cozy story in Vannetta Chapman’s latest installment of her Amish Village Mystery series. I really enjoyed Murder Freshly Baked.

There are a couple of different mystery themes going on in the book. One revolves around a murder and the possible reasons that it occurred. And, of course, we all want to know who did the deed! But, there is also another strange set of events taking place around the Amish Artisan Village. Threats and disturbing emails have begun to appear and are wreaking havoc with the emotions of the manager of the community, Amber.

I enjoyed the mysteries that needed to be solved, but my favorite parts of this book revolved around Preston Johnstone’s story. I loved learning more about him and getting to know him through the flashbacks he struggled with. His whole storyline captured me. The portions involving Hannah and Jesse also continued to be a favorite of mine.

It was fun to return to this community that encompasses both Amish and Englisch. The characters feel very real and there is definitely a cozy vibe to these stories. I think the Amish Artisan Village would be a fun place to go visit…the only thing holding me back is that there seems to be an inordinately high number of murders for such a charming place. 😉 But I definitely recommend reading this fun book, and the entire series, if you enjoy mysteries. (5 stars)

My thanks to the publisher and BookLook Bloggers for the complimentary copy of this book that I received in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Murder Freshly Baked

When delicious baked goods become lethal, it’s time to find a killer. Kindness is a virtue Meanness is a sin Better watch your bakery pies For poison I’ve slipped in

The Amish Artisan Village in Middlebury, Indiana, has been decorated with every color of balloon and flower for the Race for a Cure. As manager of the Village, Amber Bowman is thrilled to see the turnout–and relieved to have something to distract her from the “Poison Poet”–an individual who has been sending notes containing bad poetry to warn of poisoned baked goods.

Then Ryan Duvall crosses the finish line of the race–and falls down dead, murdered in broad daylight. But who did it? And why? The police suspect Preston Johnston, but Amber refuses to believe her employee could do such a thing.

Amber once again looks to her young Amish friend Hannah Troyer to help her find the killer–and to determine if it’s the same person leaving the cryptic poems and pies. Can they help the police before the Poison Poet strikes again? Both Amber and Hannah will need to draw on their faith as they fight to preserve the peaceful community they’ve built at the Amish Artisan Village.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

vannetta-headshot

The first thing you need to know about me is that I write Fiction full of GRACE. Every plot is different. The characters change. Some of my books are mysteries, others are novellas, and some are romances. But they all are stories of light, hope, and truth. Stories that at least for a moment touch the deepest places in our heart.

Tales that whisper hope. That speak of family and community. That remind us of God and His love.

What do I write? If I had to reduce it to four words, I suppose I’d say I write Fiction full of GRACE.

You can connect with Vannetta on her website, blog, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, and Goodreads.

To purchase your own copy, click the cover below:

Murder Freshly Baked

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Murder Freshly Baked by Vannetta Chapman

  1. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    This was a great book and I throughly enjoyed it!

  2. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson says:

    Sounds like another good mystery. Maxie

  3. Thank you for the kind review!

Leave a Reply

