Review: The Snowflake by Jamie Carie

The Snowflake I enjoyed this novella that ventured into the harsh Alaskan landscape. The Snowflake was unique and well-written. The characters were fairly well-developed for a novella and the storyline was definitely different than those I have read before.

I found it to be an easy and quick read. It was a bit predictable in parts. However,there were a few things that surprised me. Ellen and Buck were both likeable characters, although I didn’t feel extremely connected with them, but their budding relationship was sweet. The mental illness that appeared to plague Ellen’s brother added an extra level of danger to the already arduous journey.

The Snowflake is a good choice for those looking for a Christmas or winter story different than many other choices out there. (3.5 stars)

My thanks to B&H Publishing Group for the complimentary copy of this book that I received in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Snowflake

Christmas 1897. Ellen Pierce and her brother are determined to reach the Alaska gold rush. But when ice stalls their steamship, all seems lost, until Buck Lewis makes a decision: he’ll lead all who dare to follow on foot toward Dawson City.

Buck is determined to leave behind a heartbreaking past. No amount of ice or weather will stop him. But he never counted on a woman joining a dangerous wilderness trek–or on falling in love with her.

As their journey unfolds and Christmas approaches, Ellen and Buck discover that the greatest gift of all can’t be wrapped in paper and tied with a bow. It comes from, and is received in, the heart.

Come share in a soul-deep romance that gives a joyful reminder of a redeeming God who makes us each unique, yet loves us all the same.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

jamie2_small

Jamie Carie is the author of Snow Angel, a ForeWord magazine Romance Book of the Year winner, USA Book News National “Best Books 2007” Awards winner, and 2008 RITA Awards® Best First Book finalist. Her third novel, Wind Dancer, was a 2010 Indiana State Library Best Books of Indiana finalist. She lives with her husband and three children in Indianapolis.

You can connect with Jamie on her website, Facebook, and Twitter.

To purchase a copy of The Snowflake, click the book cover below:

The Snowflake

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

