Review: Blessing by Lyn Cote

Blessing What a captivating story! Blessing is rich in historic detail, has a wonderful romance that blossoms throughout it, and brings home the real struggle that women and former slaves faced in this time period.

I really liked the way the author showed the passage of time throughout the story. Various sections of the book begin with the date and helped me have a better understanding of when events were occurring. I appreciated that.

The heroine, Blessing, was strong and sure about many things. She helped so many people and did much good. However, even she had events from her past that she regretted and that impacted the decisions she made and the way she viewed relationships.

The hero, Gerard, made so much progress throughout the book. I will admit that for the first third of the book I could not stand Gerard Ramsay! He started out as a vindictive, manipulative, and selfish man. What a difference God and a strong woman made in his life. I really liked Gerard for the rest of the story.

Blessing was a very interesting book that I read quickly because I enjoyed it so much. It is book two in the series, but can be read as a stand-alone novel. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Blessing

An impetuous love swept Blessing Brightman away from the Quaker community, into the highest ranks of Cincinnati society. But behind the glitter of ballroom and parlor, her spirit slowly eroded in an increasingly dangerous marriage. Widowed young, determined never to lose her independence again, Blessing reclaimed her faith and vowed to use her influence to fight for women’s rights and abolition.Gerard Ramsay, scion of a wealthy Boston family, arrives in Cincinnati hoping to escape his father’s clutches with a strategy that will gain him independence. His plan is soon complicated, however, by the enchanting widow. Never before has a woman spoken as if she’s his equal–or challenged him to consider the lives of others.In a city nearly ablaze with racial tensions quickly dividing the country, can two people worlds apart possibly find common ground?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Lyn_Cote-225x300

In 1997, Lyn Cote’s first book, Never Alone, was chosen for the “new” Love Inspired romance line. Since then, Lyn has had over thirty-five novels published. In 2006 Lyn’s book, Chloe, was a finalist for the RITA, and her book Her Patchwork Family was a finalist for the Carol Award in 2010 and Her Healing Ways won in 2011. These are two of the highest awards in the romance genre.

Lyn’s brand “Strong Women, Brave Stories,” always includes three elements: a strong heroine who is a passionate participant in her times, authentic historical detail and a multicultural cast of characters. Lyn also features stories of strong women both from real life and true to life fiction on her blog.

Lyn also can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads. Drop by and “friend or follow” her. Now living her dream of writing books at her lake cottage in northern Wisconsin, Lyn hopes her books show the power of divine as well as human love.

To purchase a copy of Blessing, you can click on the image: Blessing

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Blessing by Lyn Cote

  1. Kav says:

    I’ve wanted to read this one since I read Honor. Loved that story. Thanks for the review and reminding me that Blessing is on the shelves now. Off to put in an order. (Like I need another book on my TBR pile.)

Leave a Reply

