Review: Lorie’s Heart by Amy Lillard

Lorie's Heart Lorie’s Heart is the third book in the Wells Landing series. It can stand alone if you have not read the other books in the series. I do think that the story is enhanced a bit if you have read books one and two, Caroline’s Secret and Courting Emily, because these two women are the closest of Lorie’s friends and do appear in this book.

Lorie’s Heart started out a little slowly for me. I think this was simply because there was quite a mystery to build up. I kept wanting to know the secrets that would be revealed at a bit of a faster pace and wanted Lorie to dig right in and find out what was going on. So, I pretty much blame my impatience!

I also had a bit of a hard time connecting with Lorie, Zach, and Jonah for the first half of the book. I still found the plot very interesting and wanted to find out the full story behind the secrets that Lorie’s dad had been hiding.

But, once I hit the halfway mark of the book, I became much more invested in these characters and was able to decide which man I wanted Lorie to end up with. The story pretty much took off from there for me. I could hardly set it down at that point and really could not tell what Lorie was going to decide to do and what man she would choose.

The author did a really good job of writing the confusion that Lorie felt. This girl waffled back and forth so much and was so unsure of the decisions she was making. Her need to justify the little lies she was telling was a very human trait, as well. I thought that Zach and Jonah were also very well-written and reflected very realistic ways of reacting to the things going on with Lorie and the feelings they were both experiencing.

Although it was a bit of a slow start for me, the book really picked up my interest about halfway through and ended up being a very enjoyable addition to the series. I believe that Amish fiction fans will enjoy Lorie’s Heart and that this story would also be appropriate for young adult readers who enjoy Amish fiction, as well. (4.5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Lorie's Heart

Welcome back to Wells Landing, Oklahoma, the tranquil Amish community where still waters run deep and a brave young woman sets out to discover her faith, her family, and herself…

Lorie Kauffman is grief-stricken when her father passes away unexpectedly. But her heartache quickly turns to bewilderment when she discovers he’d been leading two lives—one of simplicity and hard work in Wells Landing, and one fraught with painful ordeals in Tulsa. As she starts digging into her family’s past, Lorie finds herself torn between the Amish world and the Englisch world—and she’s no longer certain where she belongs…

Lorie knows that if she leaves Wells Landing, she may never be able to return. But what if her destiny lies in the outside world—the world her father knew so well? Change is never easy, but with a bit of courage and the help of a handsome and kind-hearted Englischer, she just may find the peace, acceptance, and love she’s been longing for…

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

AmyLillard

I’m a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess.

I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I’ve retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I’m from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son-a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!

I love homemade tacos, shoes, and romance novels-not necessarily in that order. I’m a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I’m shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.

I believe that God is love. I guess that’s why I adore romances.

You can connect with Amy on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.

To purchase a copy of this book, please click on the cover: Lorie's Heart

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

