Review: Brentwood’s Ward by Michelle Griep

Brentwood's Ward I recently won a kindle copy of Brentwood’s Ward on the Inspirational Historical Fiction Index and have enjoyed reading it this past month. If you are a fan of regency novels, this is a book you will probably like.

Nicholas Brentwood is a fabulous character right from the beginning of the story and straight through to the end. I really enjoyed the way he handled Emily Payne at the beginning of the book as he dealt with all of her antics and snobbishness. And I loved watching the way his feelings changed for Emily as the story progressed.

Now, Emily Payne is a character that I flat out did not like at the beginning of the book. She appeared snobbish, selfish, and clueless. But, I learned as I kept reading that there were some reasons behind this behavior of hers and this knowledge helped me to understand her better. She ended up growing a lot through the story and became a very likeable character. She did continue to be a very clueless lady in regards to her safety and she took risks that sometimes were hard to comprehend.

I ended up liking this story very much. It had lots of danger, twists and turns, suspense, and romance. I definitely recommend it to fans of regency fiction. (4 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Brentwood's Ward

Place an unpolished lawman named Nicholas Brentwood as guardian over a spoiled, pompous beauty named Emily Payne and what do you get? More trouble than Brentwood bargains for. She is determined to find a husband this season. He just wants the large fee her father will pay him to help his ailing sister. After a series of dire mishaps, both their desires are thwarted, but each discovers that no matter what, God is in charge.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Michelle Griep

I hear voices. Loud. Incessant. And very real. Which basically gives me two options: choke back massive amounts of Prozac or write fiction. I’ve been writing since I discovered blank wall space and Crayolas. I seek to glorify God in all that I write–except for that graffiti phase I went through as teenager.

You can connect with Michelle on her website, Twitter, and Facebook.

To purchase your own copy, please click on the book cover: Brentwood's Ward

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

