Review: Journeys of the Heart

by Camille Elliot, Winnie Griggs, & Erica Vetsch

Journeys of the Heart It was such a pleasure to read and review this collection of three novellas! Each story is by a different author and I really enjoyed the variety of storylines. Another thing that I enjoyed about all three of these novellas was their length. Each story felt full and complete to me. The characters and plot were all completely developed and I did not really have the feeling of reading a shorter novella, because the writing was so thorough in each book.

The Gentleman’s Quest by Camille Elliot was a superb regency read. I have enjoyed other regency books by this author and this one was no exception. There is mystery, danger, and quite the journey of faith for Christopher. There was also tense attraction between the two main characters that kept me enthralled right up to the satisfying conclusion.

The Road Home by Winnie Griggs was also an enjoyable and unique story pairing two people who appear, at first glance, to be opposites. I have to admit that I was frustrated with Wyatt and the pity party he had throughout much of the book. Anisha was a fascinating character and I loved watching her manipulate situations and solve problems. The author did a great job showing much growth in Wyatt’s character and faith by the end of the book.

The Trail Boss’s Bride by Erica Vetsch introduced me to a new author. I can say with certainty that I plan to read many more stories written by Erica Vetsch. This novella was definitely my favorite of the three. The harrowing situations and the strong attraction between Steve and Kitty were riveting. I also enjoyed the realistic depiction of life on a trail ride while taking care of a newborn. Just wonderful!

I definitely recommend these three great historical tales. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Redbud Press in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Journeys of the Heart

From merry old England to the wilds of Texas, take a delightful journey into adventure and romance alongside a feisty spinster, an English lord, a trail boss, a determined widow, and an unusual train companion—a parrot!

The Gentleman’s Quest by USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot
When a man’s body is found in the stables of Heathcliffe Manor, all evidence points to Christopher Creager as the culprit. The only one who can help him is the woman he hasn’t let himself go near: Honoria Dunbar. But when he enlists her help he discovers Honoria is facing a life-sentence of her own…

The Road Home by Winnie Griggs
Anisha’s life is just beginning, and Wyatt feels like his is over. How can a displaced, exotic beauty and former surgeon help two grieving orphans find a forever home?

The Trail Boss’s Bride by NY Times bestselling author Erica Vetsch
Trail boss Steve Ketchum hates river crossings, but before he can get his cattle started across he’s got to move an abandoned wagon out of the ford. He goes to haul it away–and discovers the last thing he ever expected. The wagon contains a newly-minted widow—and she’s expecting, too.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHORS:

Camy Tang, writing as Camille Elliott

Camy Tang

“I’ve always enjoyed stories—reading them, watching them in a movie or TV series, and finally writing them. I don’t think I could not tell stories, whether it’s writing books or drawing a picture or singing a song. I feel like God puts these stories in me and wants me to let them out. I want Him to use these stories how He wants to, in order to accomplish whatever He has in mind. I’m just along for the ride, and it’s been superfun so far!”

Camy writes Christian contemporary romance and romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance under her pen name, Camille Elliot. She grew up in Hawaii but now lives in northern California with her engineer husband and rambunctious dog. She’s a staff worker for her church youth group and leads one of her church’s Sunday worship teams. She also loves to knit, spin wool into yarn, and is training to (very slowly) run a marathon. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com/ and http://www.camilleelliot.com/ to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.

Connect with Camy at:

06_www01_fb02_twitter05_googleplus

Winnie Griggs

Winnie Griggs“I write to see where a story will lead me. I’ve always had interesting characters or situations come to me unannounced, sometimes full blown, sometimes just shadows and glimpses. But when these story-seeds arrive on the scene, I can’t ignore them.

As a kid, I explored these ideas through endless games of make believe with my siblings and neighborhood friends. As I grew, I began to scribble down fun, outlandish, quirky stories, letting the characters take me wherever they would. I did this just for myself, never sharing the results. But finally, after I was married and raising a family of my own, I felt a prodding from somewhere deep inside to take my ‘hobby’ to the next level. It took me a year and a half to finish that first attempt at a novel, but it was oh so satisfying. And I’ve never looked back…”

Winnie Griggs is the multi-published, award winning author of Historical (and occasionally Contemporary) romances that focus on Small Towns, Big Hearts, Amazing Grace. She enjoys cooking, browsing estate sales, and solving puzzles. She is also a list maker, a lover of dragonflies and exotic teas, and holds an advanced degree in the art of procrastination. Winnie loves to hear from readers – you can connect with her on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/WinnieGriggs.Author or email her at winnie@winniegriggs.com.

Connect with Winnie at:

06_www01_fb02_twitter03_pinterest

Erica Vetsch

Erica Vetsch

“As a history teacher and museum junkie, I am enthralled by the past, by the courage and tenacity and fight our forebears showed in creating this amazing country in which we live. As a born romantic, I fall in love with fictional characters, living their triumphs and tragedies through the wonder of story. I want to be able to share my love of history and romance and hopefully bring some light and life to the world around me.”

Erica Vetsch is a transplanted Kansan now residing in Minnesota. She loves history and romance, and is blessed to be able to combine the two by writing historical romances. Whenever she’s not immersed in fictional worlds, she’s the company bookkeeper for the family lumber business, mother of two, wife to a man who is her total opposite and soul-mate, and avid museum patron.

Connect with Erica at:

06_www01_fb02_twitter03_pinterest

Blog: Coffe Cups & Camisoles

http://www.redbudpress.com/

Purchase your own copy at:

ibooksamazonbnkobo
About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Journeys of the Heart

  1. tlrosado says:

    I am happy to hear about this set of novellas. I feel it is sometimes hard to get fully developed characters in a novella. I’ll be receiving this soon and I’m looking forward to it even more. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

