Review: Falling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter

Falling Like SnowflakesFor months I have anxiously awaited the first book in the Summer Harbor series, titled Falling Like Snowflakes. Having read Married ’til Monday from the Chapel Springs Romance series, I was already familiar with Summer Harbor and a few of the main characters. I really liked the way the author set these books up to be two separate series, yet have a crossover connection between the families.

To get to the heart of it…I loved this story! I connected with the characters right from the start. My heart ached as I learned about Eden’s painful and terrifying past. She was such a great mom to her son, Micah, and he was a great addition to this book. These two had a lot of baggage and trauma to get past. It was hard to watch Eden make some of the choices that she made toward the end of the book, however, it all tied back to the damage that had been done to her. Overall, she grew so much by the end of this story.

Beau was a great leading man. Strangely enough, he was dating someone else for a large portion of the book. I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about that, but it really worked for this story. It added a lot of conflict as he tried to determine what he was feeling and worked hard to deny the attraction that was beginning to develop toward Eden. These two had wonderful chemistry.

I loved the dynamic of the three Callahan brothers and I am very eager to read more in this series. I also thought the light suspense and danger that were present in the story was just the right amount and well-done. I enjoyed this book from start to finish. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Falling Like Snowflakes

When the Christmas season finds Eden in Summer Harbor, Maine, she’s on the run from trouble. Romance is the last thing on her mind.

Riding in a bus in the thickly falling snow, Eden Davis wonders how it ever came to this–fleeing under cover of night with young Micah sleeping fitfully in the seat beside her. When a winter storm strands them in Summer Harbor, Maine, Eden wonders if what might have been the end could be a new beginning.

Beau Callahan is a habitual problem-solver. He’s recently left his job with the sheriff’s department to take over the family Christmas tree farm to save it from insolvency. But he’s flummoxed. During the busiest season of the year, he’s shorthanded. Then Eden shows up looking for work, and Beau believes he’s been rescued. Competent, smart, and beautiful, Eden’s also guarded and quiet. He soon figures out she comes with a boatload of secrets. But Beau can’t seem to help himself from falling for her.

As Christmas Eve approaches, Beau discovers he’ll do anything to keep Eden safe. But who’s going to protect his heart from a woman who can’t seem to trust again?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Denise Hunter2

Denise Hunter is the internationally published bestselling author of more than 20 books, including Dancing with Fireflies and The Convenient Groom. She has won The Holt Medallion Award, The Reader’s Choice Award, The Foreword Book of the Year Award, and is a RITA finalist.

Denise writes heartwarming, small-town love stories. Her readers enjoy the experience of falling in love vicariously through her characters and can expect a happily-ever-after sigh as they close the pages of her books.

In 1996, inspired by the death of her grandfather, Denise began her first book, writing while her children napped. Two years later it was published, and she’s been writing ever since. Her husband says he inspires all her romantic stories, but Denise insists a good imagination helps too!

When Denise isn’t orchestrating love lives on the written page, she enjoys traveling with her family, drinking coffee, and playing drums. Denise makes her home in Indiana where she and her husband are raising three boys.

You can connect with Denise on her website, Facebook, and Twitter.

Click on the photo below to purchase a copy.

Falling Like Snowflakes

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Falling Like Snowflakes by Denise Hunter

  1. carylkane says:

    Thanks for the great review! I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  2. Jealousy is not a good color on me. I am so pleased you gave it 5 stars! Although, I am hardly, if ever, disappointed in a Denise Hunter book.

Leave a Reply

