Review: My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade

My Stubborn HeartI recently listened to the audio book version of My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade while on a road trip. I had heard from quite a few people that if I enjoyed the Porter Family books, then I needed to read this story. So, I ordered this book on Audible.

I’m so glad I did! I was really impressed with these two main characters and the way that the story flowed. Kate was stubborn and unyielding in her determination to help Matt get past the pain of losing his wife and hockey career. I was surprised that she was such a strong character and really stood up to Matt a number of times. While, at the same time, she had such a vulnerability. She was so unsure of herself and felt very ordinary compared to Matt through much of the book. It really made me feel for her.

And Matt was such a complex character. He was the epitome of tall, dark, and brooding! And he had every right to be. He had lost so much and shrunk into a shell that he had no desire to be free from. Seeing him slowly begin to overcome all that had weighed him down was very uplifting.

This book has it all. There is pain and uncertainty for both Matt and Kate, humorous side characters, and a wonderful romance, all wrapped up in a story that highlights God’s guidance in our lives.

I will add the small disclaimer that My Stubborn Heart has a slightly “edgy” feel to it, with a few words that are not curse words, but are a little rougher than is sometimes found in Christian fiction. I enjoy a wide range of Christian fiction and very much enjoyed this book and also recommend the audio book reading of the story. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

My Stubborn HeartKate Donovan is burned out on work, worn down by her dating relationships, and in need of an adventure. When her grandmother asks her to accompany her to Redbud, Pennsylvania, to restore the grand old house she grew up in, Kate jumps at the chance.

Upon her arrival in Redbud, Kate meets Matt Jarreau, the man hired to renovate the house. Kate can’t help being attracted to him, drawn by both his good looks and something else she can’t quite put her finger on. He’s clearly wounded–hiding from people, from God, and from his past. Yet Kate sets her stubborn heart on bringing him out of the dark and back into the light… whether he likes it or not.

When the stilted, uncomfortable interactions between Kate and Matt slowly shift into something more, is God finally answering the longing of her heart? Or will Kate be required to give up more than she ever dreamed?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Becky Wade is a native of California who attended Baylor University, met and married a Texan, and moved to Dallas. She published historical romances for the general market, took time off to raise her children, then felt God nudging her to pursue contemporary Christian fiction. Becky’s work has been a finalist for both a RITA and an INSPY Award.

Find Becky online: website, Facebook, Twitter
To purchase your own copy, please click on the book cover: My Stubborn Heart
About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade

  1. kelly @kellyblackwell says:

    Sounds great! Love Becky Wade. Quick question, and I know this might sound silly but how was the reader? That can make or break an audio book for me.

Leave a Reply

