Review: A Reluctant Bride by Kathleen Fuller

A Reluctant BrideNow that I have read A Reluctant Bride, I am so excited that this is only the first book in the Amish of Birch Creek series. I can look ahead and anticipate returning to these great characters in future novels!

This story was so good! The set up was ripe for tension, with Sadie and Aden ending up in a “marriage of necessity”. But, A Reluctant Bride takes it a step further. Sadie deeply resents Aden for a situation that occurred in the past when he failed her. Now, his actions are protecting her, while at the same time forcing her to look deeper at this man and his family history.

A Reluctant Bride has very complex characters, some you will love and others that are downright scary. Power, control, and abuse are driving factors that shape the lives of some key members of the story. There is loss and sadness, but also a great story of forgiveness and the chance at a deep and abiding love.

A Reluctant Bride was so interesting and I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book, through BookLook Bloggers, in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

A Reluctant BrideShe never wanted to marry. He hopes to make amends for past wrongs. Can love find a way to heal both of their hearts?

Sadie Schrock swore she would never marry. All of her other Amish friends could court and marry she was content to manage the family business and eventually take it over when her parents are ready to retire. But all of that changes when a reckless driver kills both of her parents and seriously injures her younger sister. With mounting hospital bills adding to the pile of debt her parents left behind, Sadie is left with no choice: she must marry. And not just any man the man who saw her at her weakest and walked away.

Aden knows what his brother did to Sadie years ago was inexcusable. And every day since that incident, Aden has lived with the guilt for not intervening sooner. When he is faced with the chance to protect Sadie once again, he can t let her down even if it means living with the scorn of the woman he loves for the rest of his life.

Working alongside Aden at the store, Sadie realizes he isn t the same boy who once betrayed her. Just when Sadie starts to let her guard down and perhaps develop feelings for her new husband, dangerous secrets are revealed. Now everything Sadie has worked so hard to protect is threatened, and she must find a way to save her family and herself.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kathleen Fuller

Kathleen Fuller is the author of several bestselling novels, including A Man of His Word and Treasuring Emma, as well as a middle-grade Amish series, The Mysteries of Middlefield. Website: www.kathleenfuller.com Twitter: @TheKatJam Facebook: Author Kathleen Fuller.

To purchase a copy of A Reluctant Bride, please click on the book cover:

A Reluctant Bride

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: A Reluctant Bride by Kathleen Fuller

  1. Mike Bradley says:

    Thanks Brittany! I stumbled upon your blog searching for new book suggestions. This is great. I really appreciate the suggestion! Your review has swayed me. I’ll have to check out A Reluctant Bride.

    I wanted to pass along one my pastor recommended to me. It’s the #1 bestseller on religious fiction, so maybe you’ve already heard of it. But I can’t stop thinking about. It’s a fantastic collection of short stories. It’s called Pieces Like Pottery. I really can’t recommend it enough. I would love to see your review of it at some point!

Leave a Reply

