Review: Deadlock by DiAnn Mills

DeadlockI had a bit of a problem getting into this book at first. I didn’t dislike it. The story line was interesting. But, for the first portion of the novel, I didn’t really care for the two main characters. Both Bethany and Thatcher rubbed me the wrong way. However, I kept on reading, because I did want to find out who was behind the Scorpion murders. I’m very glad I did.

As the book progressed, Thatcher and Bethany grew on me. When I learned more about these two characters, the backgrounds they came from, and even Thatcher’s newly found faith, I did become attached to them and invested in what happened. There was also an attraction building between Bethany and Thatcher that added interest.

The Scorpion killings continued to confound me throughout the entire book. The author did a great job of creating a truly strange set of characters and circumstances. I eventually had my suspicions about who might be behind the murders, but even then I did not have everything figured out. There were many twists and facets to this book, ranging from horrible family relationships to disturbing peeks into mental instability. It all ended up coming together as a solid suspense story. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

What inspired DiAnn Mills to write Deadlock? DiAnn answers this and other questions in the following links. The videos are short and I hope you enjoy them.

 DiAnn shares about her new novel Deadlock, in this extended interview

  What inspired DiAnn Mills to write her new novel, Deadlock

 Diann talks about her novel, Deadlock

 DiAnn talks about her characters in her new novel, Deadlock 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

DeadlockTwo murders have rocked the city of Houston. Are they the work of a serial killer, or is a copycat trying to get away with murder?

That is the question facing Special Agent Bethany Sanchez, who is eager for her new assignment in violent crimes but anxious about meeting her new partner. Special Agent Thatcher Graves once arrested her brother, and he has a reputation for being a maverick. Plus, their investigative styles couldn’t be more opposite: he operates on instinct, while she goes by the book.

When hot leads soon fizzle out, their differences threaten to leave them deadlocked. But an attempt on their lives turns up the heat and brings them closer together, and a third victim might yield the clue that will help them zero in on a killer. This could be the case of their careers . . . if they can survive long enough to solve it.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

DiAnn Mills

DiAnn Mills is a bestselling author who believes her readers should expect an adventure. She combines unforgettable characters with unpredictable plots to create action-packed, suspense-filled novels.

Her titles have appeared on the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists; won two Christy Awards; and been finalists for the RITA, Daphne Du Maurier, Inspirational Readers’ Choice, and Carol award contests. Library Journal presented her with a Best Books 2014: Genre Fiction award in the Christian Fiction category for Firewall.

DiAnn is a founding board member of the American Christian Fiction Writers; the 2015 president of the Romance Writers of America’s Faith, Hope, & Love chapter; a member of Advanced Writers and Speakers Association, and International Thriller Writers. She speaks to various groups and teaches writing workshops around the country. She and her husband live in sunny Houston, Texas.

You can connect with DiAnn on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

To purchase your own copy of Deadlock, please click on the book cover:

Deadlock

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

