Review: Hiding Places by Erin Healy

Hiding PlacesHiding Places was an interesting book. Although I thought that the way the story was put together was creative, it moved very slowly for me. There are many characters, coming from a wide variety of situations, and the reader follows these various men, women, and even a young girl to discover what is going on and how everything converges together.

I enjoyed the history of the hotel that is eventually revealed. I think that was my favorite part of the book for me. I felt sorry for Kate and the way her family treated her. My favorite character was Pearl, who was Kate’s great-grandmother. She was so interesting.

Overall, not my favorite story out there, but I think it could appeal to readers who like suspense. Also, although it is technically listed as Christian fiction, it only has a very light reference to religion. This story could easily appeal to readers who enjoy suspense from the general market. (3 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Hiding PlacesEleven-year-old Kate Whitby leads an invisible life, the youngest member of her odd family. They live in their historic small-town hotel, where she is an expert at keeping everyone’s secrets: her sister’s a thief, her great-grandmother isn’t as crazy as people think, her mother lives in the past, and her beloved grandfather might have killed his best friend.

Devoted to the people she loves—more than they have ever been to her—Kate vows to protect each one.

Charlie Fuse has lived on the streets since his alcoholic father threw him out. When Charlie’s powerful street family tests his loyalty by demanding that he kill the son of a rival gang leader, he refuses. They frame him for the murder, forcing Charlie to run.

When Kate finds Charlie injured and penniless, she hides him from his enemies and her uncharitable relatives, unaware that he has a connection to her family as old as the hotel itself.

The murderous gang tracks Charlie down. To flush him out, they take the clueless family hostage and threaten young Kate. Even then, Kate keeps Charlie hidden, putting all her childlike faith in one terrible hope: that the family who has never been able to protect her before might learn how to do it now.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Erin Healy

Erin Healy is the bestselling co-author of Burn and Kiss (with Ted Dekker) and an award-winning fiction editor for numerous bestselling authors. Erin is the owner of WordWright Editorial Services, a consulting firm specializing in fiction book development, and she is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and the Academy of Christian Editors. Her novels include such thrilling stories as Never Let You GoThe Baker’s Wife, and Stranger Things. She lives with her family in Colorado.

You can connect with Erin on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

To purchase your own copy of Hiding Places, please click on the book cover:

Hiding Places

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Hiding Places by Erin Healy

  1. kelly @kellyblackwell says:

    I really like Erin Healy. Looks like it might be up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

