Review – Love in the Details: A November Wedding Story by Becky Wade

Love in the DetailsThis was such a great story! I loved the small town setting and I connected with these characters very easily. There is humor and fun in the novella, but also a lot of soul searching on each side.

Josh still doesn’t understand how things could have fallen apart so many years ago. He’s had a bruised heart for many years and struggles with anger. I really felt for him and thought that he was a very interesting character.

I liked Holly so much! It broke her heart to end the relationship with Josh and although she feels that it was for a good reason, she has carried the pain around with her for all of these years.

This novella reminds me (just a little bit) of Jane Austen’s Persuasion. In that novel, Anne Elliot ends the relationship with Captain Wentworth because she is persuaded that he is not worthy of her station, yet she never stops loving him. In Love in the Details, Holly is persuaded by Josh’s mother to end the engagement, for his own good. There are other wonderful little similarities, yet Love in the Details is definitely its own creation and a novella that I highly recommend. I just like seeing the hint of Persuasion in the story line, as that is one of my all time favorite novels.

I have enjoyed many of the Year of Weddings novellas. Love in the Details is definitely one of my favorites.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book through BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Love in the DetailsShe left him to save his future, but they’ve never gotten over each other.

When Josh returns to his hometown of Martinsburg, Texas, to help his best friend get married, he didn’t intend to run into church wedding coordinator—and ex-girlfriend—Holly. He can’t help but pine after the girl he never got over.

Holly broke up with Josh years ago in an attempt to ensure his future success. But she loved him then and still loves him now. As she helps him plan his best friend’s wedding, she can’t help but feel horrible for the pain she caused him. And even though she longs to be with Josh, she doesn’t feel worthy of his big-time lifestyle when she is more comfortable in her small town world. Will Josh and Holly be able to keep things as they are when their true feelings threaten to surface at every turn?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Becky Wade

Becky’s a California native who attended Baylor University, met and married a Texan, and settled in Dallas.  She published historical romances for the general market before putting her career on hold for several years to care for her three children.  When God called her back to writing, Becky knew He meant for her to turn her attention to Christian fiction.  She loves writing funny, modern, and inspirational contemporary romance!  She’s the Carol Award, INSPY Award, and Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award winning author of My Stubborn HeartUndeniably YoursMeant to Be Mine, and A Love Like Ours.

Find Becky online:

To purchase your own copy of Love in the Details, please click on the book cover:Love in the Details

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

