Review – Breathe: A Novel of Colorado by Lisa T. Bergren

BreatheI am reading through The Homeward Trilogy series this month. Breathe is the first book in the trilogy, as well as the first book that I have read by this author. It will definitely not be my last!

Breathe was such an interesting and enjoyable story to read. I am excited that each sibling will get their own book in this trilogy. Although Odessa is the main character in Breathe, I loved that Moira and Dominic, her sister and brother, also have a lot of page time.

I have read a couple of other books about characters with consumption and I know that it was a devastating illness. I thought that that the author did such a good job at describing what Odessa and others at the sanatorium were going through during a coughing fit. Breathe also had mystery and danger to keep it moving along, as well as a sigh-worthy love story.

I’m looking forward to the next book in the series and to reading more from this author. My daughter insists that I need to read her River of Time series soon and that I will love it!

(4stars)

I won this book in a giveaway. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

BreatheEmbark on this western epic in Book 1 of the Homeward Trilogy

It’s Colorado, 1883. A publishing heiress is on the brink of life.and death. Her beautiful, younger sister is called to the forbidden stage. Her brother and troubled guardian is raging inside. A veiled treasure map leads to a hidden silver mine while a threatening villain hovers in the shadows. And a hero is bent on saving his bride.

JUST BREATHE.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

LisaTawnBergren

Lisa Tawn Bergren is the best-selling, award-winning author of over 40 books, with more than 2.5 million copies sold. Her most recent works includes a YA series called River of Time (Waterfall, Cascade, Torrent, Bourne & Tributary), God Gave Us Easter, a devotional called Upside-Down Prayers for Parents and the Grand Tour Series (Glamorous Illusions, Grave Consequences, and Glittering Promises). She’s currently at work on a new YA series called Remnants, coming out in 2014.

Lisa’s time is split between managing home base, writing, and working on ducks with her husband, Tim (RMrustic.com). Tim’s a worship leader, graphic designer and duck-sculptor. They have three kids–Olivia (18), Emma (15) and Jack (10).

The Bergrens make their home in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

You can connect with Lisa on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram.

To purchase Breathe, please click on the book cover:

Breathe

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review – Breathe: A Novel of Colorado by Lisa T. Bergren

  1. carylkane says:

    Brittany, thanks for the great review!

  2. Savurbks says:

    I have read several books by this author and really enjoyed them. I read the entire series (including Breathe) and truly liked them all. Thanks for the review!

  3. Carrie says:

    i really enjoyed this series!

Leave a Reply

