Review: Whispers in the Reading Room by Shelley Gray

Whispers in the Reading RoomWhat a unique story! I found Whispers in the Reading Room to be a very creative novel that kept me intrigued from start to finish.

Sebastian Marks is not what readers will be expecting in a hero. He is feared, he is powerful, and he has pulled himself up from a horrible beginning. I did still like him, even though part of me didn’t want to. But, I did appreciate the way he slowly grew emotionally throughout the story.

I liked Lydia a lot. I really felt for her. She was in such a bad situation, both financially and socially. I also thought that she had quite a bit of character growth throughout the novel, as well.

I really enjoyed that this book challenged me and made me wonder how the author would satisfactorily tie up all of the loose ends by the book’s conclusion. But she did in fact do so, and in a way that made sense to me. I definitely enjoyed this conclusion to the series. And if you have not read the other books in the series, Whispers in the Reading Room can stand alone, although I definitely recommend all three books in the Chicago World’s Fair Mystery series.

(4 stars)

I received a complementary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Landing page:
ABOUT THE BOOK:
Whispers in the Reading Room
Lydia’s job at the library is her world—until a mysterious patron catches her eye . . . and perhaps her heart.

Just months after the closure of the Chicago World’s Fair, librarian Lydia Bancroft finds herself fascinated by a mysterious dark-haired and dark-eyed patron. He has never given her his name; he actually never speaks to a single person. All she knows about him is that he loves books as much as she does.

Only when he rescues her in the lobby of the Hartman Hotel does she discover that his name is Sebastian Marks. She also discovers that he lives at the top of the prestigious hotel and that most everyone in Chicago is intrigued by him.

Lydia and Sebastian form a fragile friendship, but when she discovers that Mr. Marks isn’t merely a very wealthy gentleman, but also the proprietor of an infamous saloon and gambling club, she is shocked.

Lydia insists on visiting the club one fateful night and suddenly is a suspect to a murder. She must determine who she can trust, who is innocent, and if Sebastian Marks-the man so many people fear-is actually everything her heart believes him to be.


Purchase a copy:
http://bit.ly/1lujxr6

About the author:

Shelley Gray is the author of The Heart of a Hero series. Her Amish novel (written as Shelley Shepard Gray), The Protector, recently made the New York Times best seller list. A native of Texas, she earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Colorado and taught school for ten years. She and her husband have two children and live in Southern Ohio.

Connect with Shelley: website, Twitter, Facebook

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

