Review – The Super Mom Myth: Conquering the Dirty Villains of Motherhood by Becky Kopitzke

Super Mom MythI really enjoyed reading this book. I thought that the author had a very personable writing style that put me at ease while reading. I also liked the way the book was organized. It just made sense to me and I found it fun. There are plenty of humorous episodes to balance the serious issues being discussed, as well.

Having had four children who have already passed through the baby and toddler years, there were some parts of this book that didn’t apply to my life. However, as I read these sections, I was happy to see that the suggestions made by the author about how to handle the stresses that come with having young children were things that I had discovered worked for my family and myself as we traveled through that time.

There were other points that the book brought up that I gleaned some very good suggestions from for my current role as wife and mother. And the author backs everything up with verses from the Bible. That’s what it all comes back to and is the reason that I find this to be a good book for Christian women. It is based on the fact that God loves us and there are things we should be doing and things we should be watching out for. This book is a great guide. That being said, women who are not believers will probably not find this book to be relevant to their lives, as they will not enjoy everything coming back to the Bible and God. But, I do think this book could be very helpful to Bible believing families.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Super Mom Myth“This book isn’t about raising kids. It’s about raising Moms. . .” says author, speaker, blogger, lunch packer, and sidewalk chalk artist Becky Kopitzke. In a Pinterest-perfect culture, you’ve likely sensed an accelerated pressure to measure up. Then you either weigh yourself down with guilt or become resigned–desensitized, even–to this so-called failure. The Supermom Myth–with humor and grace, yet all the while maintaining a firm grasp on reality–aims to empower you to become the mom God created you to be. With 8 chapters, each personifying a “dirty villain” of motherhood, including The Grouch on the Couch (Anger), Worry Woman (Fear), and The Calendar Queen (Busyness), Kopitzke offers a gentle reminder to rest in the super power of our grace-filled God.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Becky Kopitzke

Becky Kopitzke is a writer, speaker, singer, dreamer, lunch packer, snowman builder and recovering perfectionist. She lives with her handsome husband and their two young daughters in northeast Wisconsin, where a pink indoor trampoline fills half the once formal living room.

Becky believes God works in the ordinary, and it’s up to us to find him there. On her blog, Time Out with Becky Kopitzke, she offers weekly encouragement for fellow imperfect women, pointing our weaknesses, blessings, and victories to God. Becky’s first book, The SuperMom Myth: Conquering the Dirty Villains of Motherhood, is slated to release December 1, 2015 with Shiloh Run Press.

You can connect with Becky on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

You can purchase The SuperMom Myth: Conquering the Dirty Villains of Motherhood by clicking on the book cover:

Super Mom Myth

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Non-fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

