Review: The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

The Painter's DaughterOne of my favorite books of this past year turned out to be the last book that I read! It was The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen and I thought that a fun way to start 2016 would be with a review of this beautiful story.

The Painter’s Daughter had my complete and total attention from the very first chapter. It was a story that captured me and did not let go until the very end. And even now I am still thinking about the characters and situations that arose in this book days later. I know it will be a novel that I will reread in the future.

Sophie Dupont and Captain Stephen Overtree were such likable characters. I appreciated the way Sophie realized and owned her error in judgment. She was a caring, young lady who did not blame others for the situation she found herself in. Stephen was such a solid gentleman and soldier who stepped up and offered not only his name, but compassion, too.

All of the characters in this story felt so real. The lightly gothic feel made for a few suspenseful moments and also made me question the mental health of a couple of characters. The romance that bloomed was simply beautiful and fraught with just enough complications to keep me wondering exactly how everything would play out.

The Painter’s Daughter was a truly beautiful and heartfelt story.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Painter's DaughterSophie Dupont, daughter of a portrait painter, assists her father in his studio, keeping her own artwork out of sight. She often walks the cliffside path along the north Devon coast, popular with artists and poets. It’s where she met the handsome Wesley Overtree, the first man to tell her she’s beautiful.

Captain Stephen Overtree is accustomed to taking on his brother’s neglected duties. Home on leave, he’s sent to find Wesley. Knowing his brother rented a cottage from a fellow painter, he travels to Devonshire and meets Miss Dupont, the painter’s daughter. He’s startled to recognize her from a miniature portrait he carries with him–one of Wesley’s discarded works. But his happiness plummets when he realizes Wesley has left her with child and sailed away to Italy in search of a new muse.

Wanting to do something worthwhile with his life, Stephen proposes to Sophie. He does not offer love, or even a future together, but he can save her from scandal. If he dies in battle, as he believes he will, she’ll be a respectable widow with the protection of his family.

Desperate for a way to escape her predicament, Sophie agrees to marry a stranger and travel to his family’s estate. But at Overtree Hall, her problems are just beginning. Will she regret marrying Captain Overtree when a repentant Wesley returns? Or will she find herself torn between the father of her child and her growing affection for the husband she barely knows?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JulieKlassen

I worked in publishing for sixteen years (first in advertising, then as a fiction editor) and now write full time. Three of my books, The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Silent Governess have won the Christy Award for Historical Romance. The Maid of Fairbourne Hall and The Girl in the Gatehouse also won a Midwest Book Award and The Silent Governess was a finalist in Romance Writers of America’s RITA awards.

I graduated from the University of Illinois and enjoy travel, research, BBC period dramas, long hikes, short naps, and coffee with friends. My husband and I have two sons and live near St. Paul, Minnesota.

You can connect with Julie on her website, her blog, and on Facebook.

You can purchase your own copy of The Painter’s Daughter by clicking on the book cover:

The Painter's Daughter

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

  1. Rebecca Maney says:

    I agree, it was one of the last books that I read in 2015 and definitely one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

