Review: Keeper of the Stars by Robin Lee Hatcher (PLUS Giveaway)

Keeper of the StarsI have really liked the King’s Meadow Romance series and am sad to see it end. Keeper of the Stars is a great addition to the series, yet can stand alone, as well, for those who have not read the other titles.

One portion of the book that I ended up really liking was something that I originally wasn’t sure about. Every few chapters, the reader gets to see a little glimpse back in time from Brad’s perspective. Brad was Penny’s brother who had recently passed away. I thought that reading these segments might make me very sad, however, the opposite was true. The flashbacks were from different points in time in Brad’s life and served to help me feel that I really “knew” Brad, both the boy he had been and the young man he became. I ended up loving this method of connecting me with this character!

Speaking of loving and connecting…I really did connect with the two main characters, Penny and Trevor. I felt so sorry for Penny and how hard life had become for her because of her grief. She harbored such anger, not only toward Trevor, but also toward her deceased brother, and even toward God. It was very powerful to see her move beyond that anger.

And Trevor was a great character. I liked him right from the start and admired his patience and understanding toward Penny. I loved the way he fit right in to the family and the way he connected with Penny’s dad. It was very moving to learn about the kind of upbringing he’d had and to find out how much of a spiritual impact Brad had had on Trevor’s life.

This story was packed with interesting characters and situations and I enjoyed it from start to finish.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through Litfuse Publicity, in exchange for an honest review.

keeper-of-the-stars-400

Landing page:
About the book:

Keeper of the Stars
Keeper of the Stars (Thomas Nelson, January 2016)

Because it’s not always love at first sight!

When her mother died from pneumonia, Penny Cartwright was heartbroken. But now, after burying her younger brother just 12 years later, she is devastated. Anger, guilt, and sorrow cloud Penny’s mind, and the last thing she wants is to be reminded of her pain—but that’s exactly what happens when a stranger comes to town.

Trevor Reynolds has been chasing fame for more than a dozen years, but his musical career can’t get off the ground. While on the road, an accident kills his young drummer, Brad Cartwright. Trevor wasn’t behind the wheel, but he still blames himself . . . and so does Brad’s sister, Penny. Now Trevor finds himself in Kings Meadow, determined to follow through on his final promise to his friend.

Still feeling the pain of Brad’s death, Penny and Trevor must learn that forgiveness is the only thing that can heal their hearts. And if they do forgive, something beautiful may rise from the ashes of heartbreak.


Purchase a copy:
http://bit.ly/20EmYLy

Read a sample chapter: http://bit.ly/1X0pYQ6

About the author:

Best-selling novelist Robin Lee Hatcher is known for her heart-warming and emotionally charged stories of faith, courage, and love. The winner of the Christy Award for Excellence in Christian Fiction, the RITA Award for Best Inspirational Romance, two RT Career Achievement Awards, and the RWA Lifetime Achievement Award, Robin is the author of over sixty novels.

Connect with Robin: website, Twitter, Facebook

 

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

