Horses and Friends series by Miralee Ferrell

My nine year old daughter and I have been enjoying this wonderful series of books by author Miralee Ferrell. Today we are sharing our thoughts about the first three books in the series. Make sure to check back tomorrow for my review of the most recent addition to the Horses and Friends series, Blue Ribbon Trail Ride. I was also pleased to discover, upon visiting the author’s website, that she plans to release two more books to complete the set. In my opinion, each book is a definite 5 star story for middle grade girls (8 to 12 yrs).

A Horse for KateA Horse for Kate by Miralee Ferrell

This book was an excellent introduction to the series. It was such an enjoyable and interesting story, full of the challenges of moving to a new home, making new friends, and even learning to accept when things don’t always work out the way you want them to immediately. Kate has an autistic brother and the challenges and joys her family experiences with Pete and his care adds so much to the story (and also to each book in the series).

My nine year old’s thoughts: “I like that Kate found a friend and that her friend learned to like horses.”

Silver SpursSilver Spurs by Miralee Ferrell

Silver Spurs was a very educational book for me. I learned so much about the workings of a horse riding competition. I appreciated that this story encouraged the readers to look deeper into the reasons people may act the way they do. Forgiveness and kindness weave their way through this exciting story, as well as the importance of hard work and determination.

My nine year old’s thoughts: ” I like how Kate is really devoted to her horse and spends a lot of time with her. She takes good care of her.”

 

Mystery RiderMystery Rider by Miralee Ferrell

Mystery Rider has a great, suspenseful start! Who is the mystery rider? This story includes lessons on learning to include people and not leave them out of friendship circles, not making judgments about people based on gossip, thinking things through before acting, and helping others. At first I was concerned, because the children make some decisions and head out to do something while keeping important information from their parents. Things work out well and no one is hurt, but I was very happy that the parents become involved in working out the situation that arises and in making sure that the kids understand that they could have put themselves in danger.

My nine year old’s thoughts: “I really like it because it adds a little bit of mystery and adventure into the series.”

I received all three of these books from the publisher at no cost, and was not required to write a review.

Please stop back by tomorrow and read my review of book four in the series,

Blue Ribbon Trail Ride by Miralee Ferrell.

Blue Ribbon Trail Ride

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

