Review: Blue Ribbon Trail Ride by Miralee Ferrell

Blue Ribbon Trail RideI love this series! My nine year old also loves this series! Blue Ribbon Trail Ride continues the exploits of thirteen year old friends Kate, Tori, Colt, and Melissa. These kids continue to learn and grow with each story. They make mistakes and sometimes feelings get hurt. But there is always such a great lesson of kindness and forgiveness woven throughout each novel.

The set up for Blue Ribbon Trail Ride is such a great one. Kate’s little brother, Pete, has autism and the trail ride scavenger hunt will be a great way to earn money for him to attend a special camp. Each of these stories in this series does such a good job of illustrating Kate’s love for her brother. It doesn’t mean that she isn’t frustrated at times, but the way she wants what is best for Pete is inspiring.

The book also contains a mystery that will keep kids guessing right up to the end and wondering why someone would do what they did! Friendships deepen and new friends join the group. These kids work to include others and to try to be a good example of God’s love. I really enjoyed this story.

My nine year old’s thoughts: “I like that the trail ride is the first real thing they get to do to raise money other than boarding horses. I also really like that it is the first real book where Kate can trust that Melissa is her friend.”

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Landing page:
About the book:

Blue Ribbon Trail Ride
Blue Ribbon Trail Ride (David C. Cook, January 2016)

Thirteen-year old Kate and her friends came up with the perfect way to raise money for her autistic younger brother and others to attend summer camp—a horse scavenger hunt! As local businesses donate money and prizes, Kate keeps the entry fees in her mom’s antique jewelry box.

But when the box and the money disappear, Kate and her friends must unravel the clues, hold on to hope, and solve the mystery along the Blue Ribbon Trail Ride. 


Purchase a copy:
http://bit.ly/1QHgZ3T

About the author:
 

Miralee Ferrell is the award-winning author of more than a dozen novels. She and her husband live along the Columbia River Gorge in southern Washington State, where she enjoys riding the wooded trails and spending time with her grown children. In addition to horses and dogs, Miralee once owned two cougars.

Connect with Miralee: website, Twitter,Facebook

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book, book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Blue Ribbon Trail Ride by Miralee Ferrell

  1. Kim Hampton says:

    I am SO getting this series for my 9 year old! She would LOVE it! And I would too!

  2. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Brittany, and for taking the time to read my book. I truly appreciate it!! You are a blessing! Miralee

    • Brittany says:

      Thank you, Miralee! My daughter and I are thrilled that there are two more books coming in the series! I also have a friend who’s son is autistic and I have watched their journey with him. I so appreciated the way autism was incorporated into the story. I think it will help kids to read a story with a child in it who is different from them, and remind them that God has placed this person in their lives for a reason.

Leave a Reply

