Review: Just Plain Sadie by Amy Lillard

Just Plain SadieJust Plain Sadie was so enjoyable to read that I had trouble setting the book down to get anything else done! This story is part of the Wells Landing series, however it can easily be read as a stand alone if you have not read the other books in the series. I have read all of the books in the series, though, so for me it was a wonderful reunion with a few characters and the chance to meet some new ones, as well!

I think my favorite thing about this story was the way the author had me guessing about how everything would work out right up to the end of the book. I knew how I wanted things to go, but the choices Sadie needed to make were serious. There could be benefits to either direction she chose to go. But either choice had consequences, as well! It made for quite a fascinating dilemma.

I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Sadie, Ezra, and Chris all had attributes and personalities that I liked, yet they were very human, making mistakes and saying the wrong things sometimes. I also enjoyed seeing the differences and the similarities between the Amish and the Mennonite communities. That added such interesting detail. Just Plain Sadie is a great choice for fans of Amish and Mennonite fiction.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Just Plain SadieThe Amish of Wells Landing, Oklahoma, treasure their close-knit community, and the promise of their growing families. But one young woman is struggling to choose a future that is true to both her heart and her faith…

Everyone in Wells Landing has long expected Sadie Kauffman and Chris Flaud to marry–despite Sadie’s telling them differently. While she loves Chris, it is more as a friend than a husband. Yet at twenty-two, the plainest girl in her group, Sadie is also the only one who is still single. Perhaps it’s time to be practical and marry Chris–though he still has not asked. But when Sadie meets a kind, handsome Mennonite, it seems her prayers have been answered…

With Ezra Hein, Sadie at last feels the joy she nearly gave up on. Unfortunately, others only feel shock that she would consider marrying an outsider. To complicate matters, Chris has finally begun talking to Sadie about their future. Distressed, Sadie will have to search her heart to recognize God’s marvelous gifts to her–and find the courage to accept them, challenges and all…

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Amy Lillard

For links to all of the ways you can connect with Amy Lillard, click here.

For Amy Lillard’s website, click here.

To purchase a copy of Just Plain Sadie, please click on the book cover:

Just Plain Sadie

 

Advertisements

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Just Plain Sadie by Amy Lillard

  1. susandyer1962 says:

    Great review! I can’t wait to read this one! I’ve always loved her stories!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s