Review: The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The QuietingThe Quieting is the second book in The Bishop’s Family series. Reading the first book in the series, The Imposter, is fairly important for understanding the continuing story line in this book.

While I enjoyed reading The Quieting, I actually enjoyed The Imposter a lot more than this book. But, even so, the writing was very good and I was interested in the various relationships and situations that were dealt with in this story. I was glad to see more of David and Birdy, but would have loved more time with Katrina and Andy. I really liked Dane, but did not care for Abigail. I understood and could even laugh at her literal way of dealing with life and people, yet I just could not connect with her. I did enjoy the genealogical research and discoveries that Abigail made and found that portion to be a very interesting part of the story.

Even though The Quieting was not my favorite of the two books so far, it was an overall enjoyable story that does add to the series. I am looking forward to the next book and to seeing how things come together for the various characters that the author has introduced us to.

(3.5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


The QuietingThe Stoltzfus family faces serious problems, both in the church and at home. Everyone in the community expects minister David Stoltzfus to fix things–fast. But David doesn’t work fast. He prefers to wait for God to work in individual hearts. However, even he is left wondering if the solution to their most pressing problem might be a Quieting.
When David’s mother arrives, uninvited, more upheaval is in store. She has matchmaking plans for everyone in the family, including David and her eligible granddaughters–and especially for David’s niece Abigail. When Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem–but will it create another?
Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher takes fans back to Stoney Ridge, delivering the twists, turns, and romance they adore.



Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Inn at Eagle Hill series, Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including “Amish Peace.” She is also the coauthor of an Amish children’s series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your mobile device! Download the Free App!

Purchase your own copy here.


About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book, book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s