Review: To Love a Stranger by Colleen Coble

To Love a StrangerTo Love a Stranger is a newly published edition of a previous work of Colleen Coble. Having read some of this author’s earlier stories, I grabbed this book when I had the chance. It did not disappoint. Since it is an earlier work, the story line is not as deep as current novels by this author, however, I still find that her writing flows for me as I read it. Before I know it, I’ve devoured the story! That was the case with To Love a Stranger.

It is a sweet story of two people who find themselves married and don’t know each other at all. They are both honorable and even though there are trust issues and hurt feelings at times, their hearts are in the right place trying to see if the marriage has a chance. I enjoyed the trip back in time and the details that made me feel as if I was right there traveling across the desert and into the fort in Arizona. The author also did a good job at making me feel the heart of these two individuals.

To Love a Stranger was a quick read, yet a very enjoyable story. I had not read the book that comes immediately before this one, but did not have any trouble following along. It stands alone.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

To Love a StrangerBessie Randall had no intention of moving to Wyoming. But could the life she would never choose be better than the one she had planned?

Bessie is shocked when she finds out that her sister Lenore has used her name to correspond with a soldier she’s never met—and that she’s actually married the man by proxy with Bessie’s name. And if Bessie contests it, her sister could go to jail for forgery. Bessie has always felt responsible for her younger sister, and she believes she has no choice but to do the honorable thing and travel west to meet up with Jasper Mendenhall.

With his sister Jessica’s reprimand about marrying sight-unseen still ringing in his ears, Jasper is shocked when he meets the stagecoach. The little wren who meets him is not the beauty whose picture he holds in his hand. Jasper plans to annul the marriage and send Bessie back to Boston. She’s a city girl and he’s not sure she could even survive—much less be happy—at Fort Bowie.

But Jasper’s orders to return to Fort Bowie are moved up, and he has no choice but to take Bessie with him. To his surprise, he finds much to like in the quiet young woman: things like humor and grit. But even those qualities may not be enough as the Apaches move in, determined to eradicate the fort in their midst. Can God mend their hearts together in spite of the circumstances?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

colleen-coble-headshot-small

USA Today bestselling author Colleen Coble has written several romantic suspense novels including Tidewater Inn,Rosemary Cottage, and the Mercy Falls, Lonestar, and Rock Harbor series. Her books have sold more than 3 million copies.Connect with Coble: website, Twitter, Facebook

 

Purchase your own copy here.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: To Love a Stranger by Colleen Coble

  1. carylkane says:

    Beautiful review, Brittany! I LOVE Colleen’s stories.

Leave a Reply

