Review: The Loyal Heart by Shelley Shepard Gray

The Loyal HeartThe Loyal Heart was an interesting story. I liked the setting of post-Civil War Galveston, Texas. I also enjoyed reading the flashbacks to the prisoner of war camp. I felt as if these flashbacks allowed me to understand Robert Truax and the men he served with.

I was intrigued with the way Miranda Markham’s good name and standing in the town had been completely dissolved with rumors and innuendo. The mystery of who was behind the rumors and threats kept me reading to discover the culprit. Without going into detail because I certainly don’t want to spoil anything in a book for a reader, I have to say that in real life, I am not sure that the even the events at the end of the book could have truly restored Miranda’s good name after so many had believed and spread the rumors.

Parts of the book moved slowly for me, even though I enjoyed the story. The pace did pick up in the latter half of the book and I enjoyed seeing how things came together. This novel contains mystery and a light romance.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Loyal HeartRobert came to Galveston to fulfill his promise to a dying man and look after his widow. He didn’t expect to find love in the unlikeliest of places.

Robert Truax, former Second Lieutenant and Confederate officer in the Civil War, made a promise to his comrade Phillip Markham. If anything happened to Phillip, Robert would look after his beloved wife, Miranda. She was his life, his world, his everything.

After the war, Robert is left to pick up the pieces and fulfill his pact. When he arrives at Miranda’s home in Galveston, Texas, things are worse than he imagined. Phillip’s name has been dragged through the mud, everyone in town believes him to be a traitor, and his widow is treated as an outcast. Even more disturbing is her emotional well-being. Miranda seems hopeless, lost, and so very alone.

Robert had thought his duty would be simple. He would help Miranda as quickly as possible in order to honor a promise. But the moment Robert laid eyes on her, his plans changed. He’s mesmerized by her beauty and yearns to help her in any way he can.

He makes it his duty to protect Miranda, turn her reputation around, and to find some way to help her smile again. But it doesn’t prove to be an easy task—Robert knows something about Phillip that could shake Miranda to the core and alter her view of the man she thought she knew so well.

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Shelley Shepard Gray

Shelley Shepard Gray is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town’s bike trail.
About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Loyal Heart by Shelley Shepard Gray

  1. Pingback: Giveaway – The Loyal Heart by Shelley Shepard Gray | Britt Reads Fiction

  2. Pauline Osborne says:

    I like to read this author and I once lived in Galveston so would enjoy reading this one twofold.thanks for sharing the book and the review.

Leave a Reply

