Review: To Follow Her Heart by Rebecca DeMarino

To Follow Her HeartTo Follow Her Heart was a book that kept me turning the pages to the very end, wondering what would happen next. These characters did not always do what I wanted them to. They frequently made choices I did not agree with. And things happened in this book that made me upset. But, I was amazed at the realistic feeling of this story. I was totally immersed. To Follow Her Heart is book three in the series, and I think a reader could probably follow along fairly well with this story if they hadn’t read the first two books, but I wouldn’t recommend skipping A Place in His Heart or To Capture Her Heart. The characters found in book three weave their way through books one and two and make To Follow Her Heart that much more meaningful if the reader knows the entire history.

I had a love/hate relationship with the two main characters, Jeremy and Patience. On the one hand, I actually really liked both of them and wanted them to settle together. On the other hand, Jeremy and Patience seemed to be caught up in this dance where Jeremy would claim to want to settle down and then Patience would allow him to place other things above their love. That was hard to watch. But, the author did such a great job of making me really feel the emotions of both of these characters, that I did revel in their journey. I plan to go back and read book one again soon!

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

To Follow Her HeartA Satisfying, Emotionally Rich Conclusion to The Southold Chronicles Series

It is 1664 and Patience Terry is devastated to learn that Captain Jeremy Horton’s ship has been shipwrecked off the coast of Barbados, with no survivors. She had hoped that Jeremy would someday give up the sea and settle down with her in Southold, Long Island.

Unaware his memorial service is being planned, Jeremy is rescued and aboard a British Naval Gunship with secret orders to attack New Amsterdam and claim it for the British Crown. When he makes his surprise return to Southold–and to an overjoyed Patience–it’s not the happily-ever-after his beloved had hoped for.

With a finely tuned sense for authentic historical characters and settings, Rebecca DeMarino plunges readers into the 17th century–a world of high seas and tall ships, daring journeys and yearning hearts.

Purchase your copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Demarino-29-200x300

Rebecca DeMarino is the author of A Place in His Heart, book one of The Southold Chronicles, a series inspired by her ninth great-grandparents, Barnabas and Mary Horton. She inherited her love of baking and gardening from her mother; a love of horses, reading, and writing from her dad; and the wanderlust gene from both parents. Rebecca lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Tom.

You can connect with Rebecca on her website, blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads,Google+, LinkedIn, and Pinterest.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: To Follow Her Heart by Rebecca DeMarino

  1. carylkane says:

    Fantastic review, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

