Review: Catching Heat by Janice Cantore

Catching HeatCatching Heat is book three in the Cold Case Justice series. I had read book one, but somehow missed reading book two. So, as I began reading Catching Heat I actually had a bit of catching up to do. I definitely recommend reading the entire series because the cold case that Abby and Luke are working on runs throughout all of the stories. But, since I had read book one, I was able to figure out and enjoy what was going on even though I missed a book.

I think the author does such a great job of showing the reader how things are viewed from the police perspective. I really enjoyed that the story felt authentic. Another thing I really liked about Catching Heat was the great description of the various California towns that Luke and Abby were working in. Our family just visited some of these places this summer and as I read this book and the author’s description of the scenery and weather, I felt like I was there again. It was fun!

Reading about officers working on cold cases was very interesting and I appreciated seeing the challenges that the various cases they worked presented. I definitely enjoyed both books that I read from this series.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Catching HeatTwenty-seven years after the deaths of Detective Abby Hart’s parents, she’s desperate to find the proof that will put the mastermind–the governor’s wife–behind bars. When she joins a newly formed task force and teams up with PI Luke Murphy, Abby is sent to San Luis Obispo to work the cold case of a murdered college student. Realizing their investigation will bring them near the town where Alyssa Rollins grew up, Abby decides to do a little digging of her own into the Triple Seven fire.

Luke is eager to help Abby close the books on a case they both have personal stakes in. But as she uncovers long-held secrets, Abby stumbles into an explosive situation, and Luke fears that her obsession may prove deadly.

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Janice Cantore

Janice Cantore is a retired Long Beach police officer who now writes suspense novels to keep readers engrossed and leave them inspired. Her twenty-two years of experience on the force lend authenticity to her stories. She has penned six novels, the Pacific Coast Justice series, Visible Threat, and Critical Pursuit. Drawing Fireis the first book in the Cold Case Justice series.

Visit Janice’s website at www.janicecantore.com and connect with her on Facebook.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Catching Heat by Janice Cantore

  1. carylkane says:

    Great review, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

