Review: The Isaac Project by Sarah Monzon

The Isaac ProjectEarlier this week I was scanning my Kindle for a contemporary book to read and I came across The Isaac Project, which I purchased a little while back. It was exactly what I was looking for!

This story really had it all for me. It was a contemporary romance that was actually built on the story of Isaac and Rebekah in the Bible. The author did such a great job of writing a modern day marriage of convenience story in a way that seemed realistic. It was written in first person and after reading just a few pages I realized that I really liked that perspective for this story. It was great to read both Becky and Luke’s thoughts directly from them!

I liked both Becky and Luke, but especially Luke! He was so steadfast and determined to be a good, loving husband. I thought that the way he approached building a life with Becky to be very solidly based on trust in God’s plan. His goal of showing his wife that he loved her by they way he cared for her was so special. Becky was scared and unsure for most of the story and consequently made some mistakes and felt insecure at various points. It could be easy to be frustrated with Becky, however, she learned what she needed to learn as the story progressed.

I loved this book and from start to finish. It was so fun to read! And that cover makes me so happy every time I look at it! I know I will be re-reading The Isaac Project many times.

(5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Isaac ProjectBecky Sawyer’s life unravels in a single day. Not only does she catch her boyfriend, the man she hoped to marry, lip-locked with another woman, she also receives the gut-wrenching news that her grandfather, the man who raised her, is dying. His last wish? To see her happily married. Heartbroken, Becky seeks inspiration in the pages of the Holy Scriptures. And finds it in the story of Isaac and Rebekah.

If love couldn’t keep his parents together, Luke Masterson wonders what will make a marriage last. He decides to steer clear of all women—especially crazy ones like Becky Sawyer, who employs a friend to find her a husband. But when he feels the dogged promptings of the Holy Spirit to move across the country and marry a complete stranger, it seems love has little to do with it anyway.

With commitment their only foundation, and love constantly thwarted, can an arranged marriage find happiness in the twenty-first century?

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sarah Monzon

Sarah Monzon is a pastor’s wife and a stay at home mom to the two cutest littles in the world. Playing pretend all day with them isn’t enough, she spends the evenings after their heads hit the pillow to create her own imaginary characters. When she isn’t in the world of make believe, she can be found in a small desert town in central Washington taking care of her family, fostering friendships, and enjoying all the adventures each day brings.

Connect with Sarah: website, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Isaac Project by Sarah Monzon

  1. carylkane says:

    Great review, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

