Review: The Captive Heart by Michelle Griep

the-captive-heartWow, oh wow! The Captive Heart has jumped up to one of the top spots in my favorites list. It has definitely earned its place as one of the best historical novels that I have read this year. For readers who have enjoyed the novels of Lori Benton, Laura Frantz, and Beth White, The Captive Heart has that same epic feel that these authors capture in their stories.

The characters were so well written! I truly felt for both Eleanor and Samuel. The struggles that they both endured made for very deep characters, with a lot of layers that made them who they were. I loved the way they interacted with each other. There was a marriage of convenience that they both entered into, yet it was so much more. There was great tension between these two, a rugged setting, and plenty of danger from both nature and human threats. Add to that the interesting balance that Samuel worked to keep between the world of the white settlers and the Cherokee people. This was a fascinating story that I loved from start to finish.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

the-captive-heartABOUT THE BOOK:

Proper English governess Eleanor Morgan flees to the colonies to escape the wrath of a an angry duke. When the Charles Town family she’s to work for never arrives to collect her from the dock, she is forced to settle for the only reputable choice remaining to her—marriage to a man she’s never met. Trapper and tracker Samuel Heath is a hardened survivor used to getting his own way by brain or by brawn, and he’s determined to find a mother for his young daughter. But finding a wife proves to be impossible. No upstanding woman wants to marry a murderer.

Purchase a copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Michelle Griep

I hear voices. Loud. Incessant. And very real. Which basically gives me two options: choke back massive amounts of Prozac or write fiction. I’ve been writing since I discovered blank wall space and Crayolas. I seek to glorify God in all that I write–except for that graffiti phase I went through as teenager.

You can connect with Michelle on her website, Twitter, and Facebook.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: The Captive Heart by Michelle Griep

  1. carylkane says:

    Fabulous review, Britt! 🙂

  2. Carrie says:

    this is definitely one of my faves!

  3. Pingback: My Fave Reads of 2016: Historical Fiction - Reading Is My SuperPower

Leave a Reply

