A Guest Post and a Giveaway!

I’m thrilled to have Author Marji Laine visiting with us as a guest blogger today!

And I know that all of you are going to be thrilled to learn about Marji’s exciting new release, COUNTER POINT, and to enter to win a kindle copy!

2011-author-photo

Hi Marji. Thanks so much for stopping by to share a little with us about your upcoming release, COUNTER POINT, as well as a humorous look into where inspiration can come from when you are a mystery writer.

Please give Marji a big welcome!

Mystery Writer at Work: Hiding Bodies

My girls and I tend to find the strangest places to have a murder victim discovered. No wait … I can’t really lay the blame at their feet. Usually my girls are just along for the ride. But they make great listeners. Sometimes, they’ll even chime in with critiques over the possibility of my scenarios, which generally spins out other options.

Not so long ago, I took a wrong turn when trying to find a venue for one of their volleyball games. The parking lot in which I found myself, didn’t connect with the building I needed, but it had a large donation receptacle on one end.

I barely glanced at the large green box. Only enough to see that it was packed full and the little flap-lid was propped open from the generous donations:

A bunch of game boxes
Huge stack of clothes
Cowboy boots

Wait … only the soles of those boots were visible. The dinky twinky (nickname for my twins) in the front seat next to me said, “Uh, mom?”

“I see them.”

“You don’t suppose …?”

I did a circle and pulled back around to examine them more closely. Definitely boot soles, worn and sized for a large woman or a small man. Maybe a men’s size 9? But from the way they were propped, toes up with one slightly leaning to the side, they could definitely … what a horrible thought, but then, I do write about murder. I’ve needed less stimulation than that to turn my thoughts to where a body might be hidden.

I’d like to tell you that I got out and checked on the boots, but despite the fact that I’m a fiction author, I can’t lie worth a flip! So I did not get out and check on the boots/body. I persuaded one of my dinks to do it! LOL!

Thankfully, she only found boots! But what if… You know, I think there is a story in this situation. And I fully plan to flesh it out someday soon!

cpcoverf

My current murder mystery – COUNTER POINT is my first full novel – is available for pre-order at a discount during the month of October. Here’s the Amazon Link, and the short version:

Someone is determined to finish a murdered hitman’s final assignment.

Cat McPherson felt she’d lost everything when her father died, but as the target of a madman bent on revenge, she still has much to lose. Her former boyfriend, Ray Alexander, returns as a hero from his foreign mission, bringing back souvenirs in the form of death-threats. When several attempts are made on Cat’s life, she must find a way to trust Ray, the man who broke her heart.

Keeping Cat safe from a fallen cartel leader might prove impossible for Ray, but after seeing his mission destroyed and several godly people killed, he knows better than to ignore the man’s threats. Cat’s resistance to his protection and the stirring of his long-denied feelings for her complicate his intentions, placing them both in a fight for survival.

Learn more about a special giveaway with every pre-order of COUNTER POINT on my website: MarjiLaine.com

*******************

And here is the giveaway info for the Kindle copy of COUNTER POINT that Marji Laine is giving to one of the commenters on this blog post:

giveaway

Giveaway begins 10/11/16 and ends 10/15/16. Winner announced on Britt Reads Fiction and emailed on 10/16/16. This giveaway is for a kindle copy of COUNTER POINT by Marji Laine.

To enter:

  1. Comment on this blog post to be entered.
  2. Earn an extra entry by sharing about this giveaway on some form of social media (don’t forget to let me know that you shared)
  3. Visit Marji’s blog for another entry.
  4. Follow Marji on Facebook for another entry.
  5. Follow Marji on Twitter for yet another entry.
  6. And, once again, please comment and let me know what actions you have taken so I can enter you the right number of times in the giveaway. And thanks for stopping by Britt Reads Fiction!

ABOUT MARJI:

2011-author-photoMarji Laine writes what she loves to read—mysteries, suspense, and romance with characters relying on an authentic faith in God to carry them through treachery, betrayal, and impossible circumstances.
A Home schooling mom of four, she has two still left in the nest. She coordinates high school subjects at a large co-op while teaching writing, psychology, and government classes. She also manages the co-op’s website, directs a children’s choir at her church, and is the senior reviewer at Suspense Sisters.
When not writing, she loves game night with the family, crocheting in front of a NASCAR race or Texas Ranger baseball game, or scrapbooking along with a Hallmark movie and her black Labrador mix at her feet.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, Christian Fiction, contest, giveaway, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Guest Post and a Giveaway!

  1. Ann Ellison says:

    I haven’t read any of Marji’s books, but I definitely am her to my reading list. I would love to win a copy of this book. I have visited her blog, liked her FB page, and shared this post on my FB page.

  2. Sandra Padgett says:

    Sounds like an exciting suspense story. Thank you for the giveaway.

  3. staceyweeks says:

    I shared the post on my FB page. I love suspense – thanks for the opportunity to enter.

Leave a Reply

