Review and Giveaways: The Cautious Maiden by Dawn Crandall

the-cautious-maidenThe Cautious Maiden was one of those stories that when it was over, I wanted to turn right back to page one and start again! For that matter, I wanted to go back and read the entire series again. I enjoyed these characters so much!

Now I must make a confession…The Cautious Maiden, book four in the Everstone Chronicles, is the story of Vance Everstone and Violet Hawthorne. Here is my confession…I kind of wanted the author to kill off Vance in book two, The Bound Heart! I was so mad at him! But, I am very glad that the the author did, in fact, keep him alive. And not only that, his is a truly wonderful story of redemption! Now he is one of my favorite characters. It was fulfilling to see, in action, all the ways that Vance grew.

Vance and Violet had so much chemistry. I loved the way they interacted with each other and also just the general pace of the story. I felt like I was stepping back into their world again (as I did with the previous three books). The author captured the uncertainty that both Vance and Violet carried about their future, their worth, their attraction, and did a great job of capturing the time period that the novel was set in.

(5 stars)

I received a compimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

And now…on to the giveaways!

You have many chances to win a copy of The Cautious Maiden.

  • Blog giveaway right here on Britt Reads Fiction. Whitaker House is giving away a paperback copy of The Cautious Maiden by Dawn Crandall here on my blog. Giveaway begins 10/21/16 and ends 10/27/16. Winner will be announced on this blog on 10/28/16 and will also receive an email. US residents only.
    • To enter, click on the graphic:

the-cautious-maiden-giveaway

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

  • Dawn Crandall is also running two different giveaways. You can access these giveaways by clicking on either image below to be taken to the rafflecopter page. Both giveaways are on the rafflecopter page. You can enter one giveaway and then push the arrow on rafflecopter to be taken to the next entry form.

giveaway-1   giveaway-2

  • And finally, there is a Goodreads giveaway going on for a paperback copy of The Cautious Maiden. It ends 11/4/16 and can be entered here.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

the-cautious-maidenViolet Hawthorne is beyond mortified when her brother Ezra turns their deceased parents’ New England country inn into a brothel to accommodate the nearby lumberjacks; but when Violet’s own reputation is compromised, the inn becomes the least of her worries. In an effort to salvage her good name, Violet is forced into an engagement with a taciturn acquaintance; Vance Everstone. As she prepares for a society wedding, Violet learns that her brother had staked her hand in marriage in a heated poker game with the unsavory Rowen Steele, and Ezra had lost. Now Rowen is determined to cash in on his IOU. With danger stalking her and a new fiance who hides both his emotion and his past, Violet must decide who to trust and who to leave behind.

Purchase a copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Dawn Crandall

Dawn Crandall is an ACFW Carol Award-nominated author of the award winning series The Everstone Chronicles, which currently consists of: The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart and The Captive Imposter. The Cautious Maiden is her fourth book.
Apart from writing, Dawn is also a mom of two little ones and serves with her husband in a premarital mentorship program at their local church in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
A graduate of Taylor University with a degree in Christian Education and a former bookseller at Barnes & Noble, Dawn Crandall didn’t begin writing until 2010 when her husband found out about her long-buried dream. It didn’t take her long to realize that writing books was what she was made to do.
Dawn is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers, the secretary for the Indiana ACFW Chapter (Hoosier Ink), and an associate member of the Great Lakes ACFW Chapter. She is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency.

You can connect with Dawn on her website, blog, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, contest, giveaway, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Review and Giveaways: The Cautious Maiden by Dawn Crandall

  1. Karen says:

    I still haven’t had a chance to read any of Dawn’s books, but I’ve been dying to!

  2. Savurbks says:

    Hard to believe I haven’t read any books in the series yet but I absolutely love the covers! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Elizabeth p says:

    Wonderful series..loved each and every one and can’t wait to read this one!!

  4. wendynewcomb says:

    No, I have not read any yet buy am looking forward to reading the series.

    wfnren at aol dot com

  5. I haven’t read these books but I’d love to! Thanks for the chance to win! It says to let you know if I already follow your blog…?

  6. Thank you. Loved the first book.

  7. Cathy says:

    I love to read historical fiction but have not read any of this series. The setting and premise sound very interesting. Thanks for the review and opportunity to participate.

  8. diannekc says:

    I haven’t read any of the Everstone Chronicles, but I’m looking forward to reading this series. Thanks for the chance.

  9. Elly says:

    I haven’t read any of the Everstone Chronicle books, but they’re on my goodreads to-read shelf and I’m DYING to read them!!
    Elly -Indiana-

  10. Patty says:

    I have not read any of the Everstone books, winning this one would encourage me to start the series!

  11. I haven’t YET read these, I have 3 of 4 so I would love to add this, thanks for the chance!

  12. This is a great series! I loved the first book but The Captive Heart is my favorite so far…

  13. Annie JC says:

    Awesome series! It’s way too hard to pick a series. For some reasons, I tend to change each time I think about it. hahah. Depending on my mood and my day! Today, The Cautious Maiden!

  14. Joan Arning says:

    I’ve read the others in the series! Enjoyed them.

  15. MH says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. I haven’t read any Dawn Crandall books but this one sounds superb.

  16. Elizabeth says:

    This looks like it might be the best book in the series!

  17. Brittaney B says:

    I’ve read the first book in the Everstone series and really enjoyed it. I definitely want to read the rest of them. So many books, so little time!

  18. Elise Boss says:

    This book sounds really good and I love this time period. Thank you for sharing your opinion on the book and for the chance to win a copy!

  19. Elise Boss says:

    This book sound great and I love this time period. I have not read any books in the series, but it seems that I need to! Thank you for a chance to win a copy!

  20. agboss777 says:

    I LOVE the Everstone Chronicles series! I have read the first two books so far and am getting ready to start the 3rd book. I would have to say The Hesitant Heiress is my favorite so far. Thanks for the GREAT review of The Cautious Maiden, Brittany! So glad to hear that this is a story of Vance’s redemption. I have to agree with you that he was pretty repulsive in the Bound Heart. Thanks for the opportunity of this giveaway!!! ~ Alison

  21. carylkane says:

    Hey Britt! I LOVE the Everstone Chronicles. It’s hard to choose a favorite. Each novel is special. Thank you for the giveaway!!!

  22. Connie Tillman says:

    I have not had a chance to read any yet! But I will be looking for them!

Leave a Reply

