Conspiracy of Silence Tour of Duty – Interview with Haven “Kasey” Cortes!

tour-of-duty-image

Welcome to one of the stops on the Conspiracy of Silence “Tour of Duty”! A special THANKS goes out to Ronie Kendig, author of the Tox Files series, for giving us a glimpse into the life of one of the main characters in Conspiracy of Silence, Haven “Kasey” Cortes.

conspiracy-of-silence

 

Thanks for sitting down with me, Kasey…or is it Haven? I’m sure there’s a story there! Care to share? And do you prefer one name over the other?

My birth name is Katherine Haven Linwood. Because Katherine was my mother’s name, I went by Haven most of my life. However, when I married Duarte and took his last name, Cortes, he started calling me K.C., which easily and quickly morphed into Kasey. After he died, I did want to let go of that name. It’s been really a homecoming to have Cole back in my life and hearing Haven again.

Well, I for one am intrigued with the idea of a deception expert. Is that an exciting and rewarding occupation? Any drawbacks to this kind of career path?

I’m not sure I’d call it exciting, though it’s very rewarding because it helps solve cases sometimes. But most of the time, I’m pouring over transcriptions and watching videos in tedium, looking for signs of deception. The only drawback is when I “forget” to turn it off in my personal life. People get weirded out when they think I’m reading them.

You have a connection to the First Family. President Russell is your brother-in-law. Am I correct? Tell me…do you have a favorite room in the White House? Are you able to visit often?

Things became a bit awkward when my sister, Brooke, died, but Galen is a really great man—despite my taking issue with his treatment of Cole—and he wanted to be sure Evie, his daughter/my niece, stayed in contact with her mother’s family, so I do visit with them, but we try to keep it in a less formal setting, like at his parents’ home or my parents’ place. When he took the presidency, I really didn’t want the limelight, which is another reason I kept my married names. As for a favorite room, I think I’d say the East Sitting Hall—which I suppose isn’t a room, per se, but I love the warm hue and the gorgeous fan window that dwarfs the room.

Well, we’re about out of time. I heard that you recently spent some time overseas. Work travel is very different from vacation travel, I’m sure. But, if you could travel anywhere for some peaceful relaxation, where would it be?

I’ve always wanted to visit Russia, so perhaps a trip there, or maybe Greece.

Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to visit with me.

Thank you for having me! It’s been a pleasure!

Ronie Kendig is celebrating the release of

Conspiracy of Silence with a big giveaway!

Click on the graphic to be taken to her site and enter to win!

giveaway-tox

You can learn more about The Tox Files here.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, Christian Fiction, giveaway, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conspiracy of Silence Tour of Duty – Interview with Haven “Kasey” Cortes!

  1. Ronie says:

    Thank you for a great interview with Kasey!

  2. carylkane says:

    Britt, thank you for the interesting interview with Kasey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

