Review: For the Record by Regina Jennings

for-the-recordOh my goodness! This book was great! I enjoyed it so much. I really liked the two main characters and the way their lives ended up intertwining. The setting of Pine Gap, Missouri was the same as the previous books in the series, however, readers should be able to pick up For the Record and enjoy this story even if the other books have not been read.

Deputy Joel Puckett was in over his head as the out of town law enforcement called in to straighten out the trouble going on in Pine Gap. I really felt for him. He was trying his best to follow the law and straighten things out, but seemed to be missing important and helpful information about the way things worked up in those mountains.

Betsy was a fun character. She provided a bit of lightheartedness at times with the story that revolved around her fictional hero. She was likable, even as I wanted to tell her to stop sending in those stories. I felt for her situation, as well. She loved her extended family but felt in the way and was simply looking for a means to support herself.

For the Record was wonderful from start to finish with a great romance that built between the two main characters as the story progressed. I loved the way the author wrapped up the ending. I highly recommend this book.

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

for-the-recordBetsy Huckabee might be a small-town girl, but she has big-city dreams. Writing for her uncle’s newspaper will never lead to independence, and the bigger newspapers don’t seem interested in the Hart County news. Trying a new approach, Betsy pens a romanticized serial for the ladies’ pages, and the new deputy provides the perfect inspiration for her submissions. She’d be horrified if he read her breathless descriptions of him, but these articles are for a newspaper far away. No one in Pine Gap will ever know.
Deputy Joel Puckett didn’t want to leave Texas, but this job in tiny Pine Gap is his only shot at keeping his badge. With masked marauders riding every night, his skills and patience are tested, but even more challenging is the sassy journalist lady chasing him.

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jennings

Regina Jennings is a graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University with a degree in English and a history minor. She has worked at The Mustang News and First Baptist Church of Mustang, along with time at the Oklahoma National Stockyards and various livestock shows. She now lives outside Oklahoma City with her husband and four children.

You can connect with Regina on her website, blog, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest, and Twitter.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: For the Record by Regina Jennings

  1. Hi Britt, I enjoy Regina’s stories too. Merry Christ*mas to you and your family. Thank you for your review of For the Record. Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House

  2. carylkane says:

    Excellent review, Britt! MERRY CHRISTMAS! Blessings to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

