Review: Still Life by Dani Pettrey

still-lifeWow! What a chillingly suspenseful novel! Still Life is book two in the Chesapeake Valor series and it was great to return to the characters that were introduced in book one, Cold Shot. I do believe that readers could read Still Life as a stand alone novel if desired and follow along just fine, however, I highly recommend reading Cold Shot, as it was a book that I thoroughly enjoyed, too.

I loved the dynamic between Avery and Parker. They had great chemistry together on the pages. Both of these characters had interesting back stories. Parker’s revolved around the tragic and violent loss of his first love, while Avery worried that her troubled past would come to light and send Parker running from her. There was great emotional depth in these two characters.

The author allowed glimpses into the villain’s thoughts thoughout the book and that added to the creepy factor – in a good way! It really emphasized the darkness that he carried in him. The crime that this team was trying to solve was such a strange and unique scenario. It made for a very memorable novel full of twists and turns that kept me anxiously turning the pages!

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

still-life

Work hits too close to home for crime scene photographer Avery Tate when her best friend disappears. The only lead is a chilling photo of her–apparently dead. As Avery, her boss Parker, and his friends dig into the case, she’s forced to confront her feelings for Parker when they come face-to-face with a dangerous criminal.

Purchase your own copy here.

 

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Dani Pettrey

Dani Pettrey is a wife, mom, grandma, and the author of Cold Shot, the first book in the Chesapeake Valor series, and the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered, Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, a Christy Award nomination, two National Readers’ Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing’s Best Award, among others.

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves—the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters’ faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson.

website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Still Life by Dani Pettrey

  1. Paula says:

    Dani is one of my top favorite authors. I have this one on hold at the library, signed up for lots of giveaways and on my to read shelf on goodreads.

  2. carylkane says:

    Excellent review, Brittany!

  3. I loved these two in the first book, and I’m looking forward to reading this one.

  4. I read the first book and was looking for a review of the second–was not too sure about the romance part but glad to hear it is good. I’m not one that likes to get into a killer’s mind, though, so I will have to think about getting the book or not. But I appreciate the review!

    • Brittany says:

      Hi Linda, As far as getting into the killer’s mind. The segments that do that are very short, like a small paragraph, generally. Hope that helps. These definitely do not dominate the story, just give a little peek into the thoughts. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

