Audio Book Review: Sword of Forgiveness by Debbie Lynne Costello

the-sword-spirit-audio

Sword of Forgiveness was one action-packed novel! It was also packed with a turbulent romance, danger, intrigue, and the gospel message. The hero and heroine had to overcome many obstacles to find their happily ever after, and it was quite the journey to get there!

I thought the author did a very good job of immersing the reader in the midieval time period. I also loved the set up for the story, with the two main characters married yet unable to trust each other. There was great tension between these two. I enjoyed watching them learn to trust each other, and eventually love each other.

There were times that both Brithwin and Royce made decisions or believed lies that were fed to them. This added plenty of frustration and intrigue to the story and made me actually say, “Come on, guys! Wake up!” quite a few times in the story. These two characters had a lot to learn.

At about the halfway point of listening to this novel, I found myself hardly able to stop! I just had to know how things were going to work out and it was very hard to step away from this story at times. I really enjoyed the narration of Sword of Forgiveness. At first, I wasn’t sure that I liked the sound of this particular narrator, however, it only took about a chapter for me to change my mind and begin to appreciate her narrating style. I thought she did a great job with the character voices.

I’m hoping there will be more books coming soon in this series and I definitely recommend Sword of Forgiveness to historical fiction fans that enjoy this time period.

(4.5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

the-sword-spirit-audioWhen her father died, she had promised herself no man would own her again, yet who could defy an edict of the king?

After the death of her cruel father, Brithwin is determined never again to live under the harsh rule of any man. Independent and resourceful, she longs to be left alone to manage her father’s estate. But she soon discovers a woman has few choices when the king decrees she is to marry Royce, the Lord of Rosencraig. As if the unwelcome marriage isn’t enough, her new husband accuses her of murdering his family, and she is faced with a challenge of either proving her innocence or facing possible execution.

Royce of Hawkwood returns home after setting down a rebellion to find his family brutally murdered. When all fingers point to his betrothed and attempts are made on his life, Royce must wade through murky waters to uncover the truth. Yet Brithwin’s wise and kind nature begin to break down the walls of his heart, and he soon finds himself in a race to discover who is behind the evil plot before Brithwin is the next victim.

Purchase for Kindle here.

Purchase for Audible here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

debbie-lynne-costelloDebbie Lynne Costello has enjoyed writing stories since she was eight years old. She raised her family and then embarked on her own career of writing the stories that had been begging to be told. She and her husband have four children and live in upstate South Carolina. She has worked in many capacities in her church and is currently the Children’s Director. Debbie Lynne has shown and raised Shetland Sheepdogs for eighteen years and still enjoys litters now and then. In their spare time, she and her husband take pleasure in camping and riding their Arabian and Tennessee Walking horses.

Website   Blog   Goodreads

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in author, book, book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Audio Book Review: Sword of Forgiveness by Debbie Lynne Costello

  1. debraemarvin says:

    I love seeing great books like his in Audible! Thanks for the review, Brittany! I’m thrilled for Debbie Lynne’s success with this series!

Leave a Reply

