Review: Grace and the Preacher by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Grace PreacherGrace and the Preacher was a sweet story. Grace was naive about so many things. It added to her sweetness and made sense based on her upbringing. It was hard to watch her anticipate the way things “should” work out as she waited for the preacher to arrive. This made the emotional journey she eventually had to work through a bit harder, but more satisfying.

I felt for Theo and the fear that he carried about his cousins’ retributions. I could understand his reasoning in the deception he carried out. Part of me was frustrated with him and the other part of me empathized with him.

It was a bit hard for me to connect with the characters. I was interested to see how everything played out, yet not overly invested in the outcome. The pacing of the story was slow for me, yet that pacing also worked well to illustrate the way things moved during that time period. Information was not quickly transmitted, journeys took time, and letters through the postal service were highly anticipated.

I thought that this was a sweet story, with a twist. The reader must in one part feel compassion for the deceiver and compassion for the deceived, as well. Overall, I thought it was well done, just a little slower moving than I usually enjoy.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Grace PreacherThe Kansas community of Fairland anticipates the arrival of their new minister and in recent months, late in 1882, postmistress Grace Cristler has communicated with Reverend Dille via letters, answering his questions about the little town, and developing affection for the man who pens thoughtful missives.

Theophil Garrison grew up under the loving influence of his saintly grandmother, but was roped into his cousins’ train-robbing plan. When they fail and are apprehended, Theo fled the scene, evading jail time. Now an angry cousin is out to avenge Theo’s duplicity, and he’s on the run. He encounters a fatally ill traveler–a minister. Seeing a way to keep hidden, Theo trades identities with the man, dons his fine black suit, carries a Bible, and prays that he’ll be accepted as Rufus Dille.

Once in Fairland, if Theo’s true identity is uncovered, what will be left of the world he has built for himself, Grace, and those in the town who have come to love and accept him?

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

kimvogelsawyer-sidebar

Kim Vogel Sawyer is the author of fifteen novels, including several CBA and ECPA bestsellers. Her books have won the ACFW Book of the Year Award, the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, and the Inspirational Readers Choice Award. Kim is active in her church, where she leads women’s fellowship and participates in both voice and bell choirs. In her spare time, she enjoys drama, quilting, and calligraphy. Kim and her husband, Don, reside in central Kansas, and have three daughters and six grandchildren.

You can connect with Kim at her website as well as on Facebook and Twitter.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Grace and the Preacher by Kim Vogel Sawyer

  1. Paula says:

    This looks interesting. I like the time period and the old west!

Leave a Reply

