Review: What Hope Remembers by Johnnie Alexander

What Hope RemembersI really enjoyed returning to Misty Willow in this third book of the Misty Willow series. I loved seeing what was going on in the lives of the couples from the previous two books. If you haven’t read the first two books, I think What Hope Remembers can stand alone pretty well. The reader will not get the full effect of the changes Amy has gone through and will have to work to understand some of the background references to the history of the land and historic buildings in the novel. If you want the full picture, definitely read the series in order.

Gabe was such a great character. I liked him from the start and my opinion of him continued to grow all throughout the story. What a stand up guy! I have to admit that while I liked Amy a whole lot more than in the previous books, I just did not really connect with her in this novel. I did feel for her and wanted things to work out for both of these characters. She was definitely a tough character and did improve greatly from the other books in the series. It was interesting to see her back story and find out how this trilogy wrapped up.

(4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

What Hope RemembersWhen Amy Somers loses her job as a lobbyist, she moves to Misty Willow, well aware that she’s crossing bridges she’d burned years before. With all the mistakes she’s made and the uncaring things she’s done–even to her own family–she can hardly believe that happiness will find her, especially when Gabe Kendall, her first crush and her first kiss, rides back into her life atop a buckskin mare.

A former Marine, Gabe is at loose ends after serving a prison sentence for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. He sees beyond Amy’s hard exterior to the girl he once knew and loved, and he longs to see her open her heart. Yet with his vision clouded by shame for his past and fears about the future, he finds it difficult to see the path ahead.

But the memory of that long-ago kiss just may have the power to reignite a romance that brings out the best in both of them.

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Johnnie-Alexander2

Johnnie Alexander writes inspiring stories that linger in the heart. Where Treasure Hides, her debut novel, won the ACFW Genesis Contest (2011) and Golden Leaf Award (2014). The first of her three contemporary romances, Where She Belongs (Misty Willow Series), released from Revell in January 2016.

She also has won Best Novel and Best Writer awards (Florida Christian Writers Conferences), and Bronze Medalist (My Book Therapy Frasier Contest).

A graduate of Rollins College (Orlando) with a Master of Liberal Studies degree, Johnnie treasures family memories, classic movies, road trips, and stacks of books. She lives in the Memphis area where her morning chores include feeding dogs, cats, chickens, and a small herd of alpacas.

Facebook          Twitter         Goodreads       Pinterest          LinkedIn      Website

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

