Review: The Writing Desk by Rachel Hauck

The Writing DeskThis dual-timeline novel pulled me into its pages and simply didn’t let go! When I finished the book, I felt as if I’d lived two different lifetimes. Both stories, present and past, were so compelling. I enjoyed the contemporary storyline and wondered how things were going to work out for Tenley. She seemed to be digging herself into a hole as she struggled to be the amazing author that everyone touted her to be. And the Gilded-Age story from the past…romantic sigh!!! I just absolutely did not see how things could possibily go right for these two people who were so in love, yet unable to devote themselves to each other. Birdie’s story completely captured me!

I’ve found myself thinking of the characters in this book many times over the past few days. This was definitely an intriguing read!

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Writing DeskTenley Roth’s first book was a literary and commercial success. Now that her second book is due, she’s locked in fear. Can she repeat her earlier success or is she a fraud who merely found a bit of luck?

With pressure mounting from her publisher, Tenley is weighted with writer’s block. But when her estranged mother calls asking Tenley to help her through chemotherapy, she packs up for Florida where she meets handsome furniture designer Jonas Sullivan and discovers the story her heart’s been missing.

Born during the Gilded Age, Birdie Shehorn is the daughter of the old money Knickerbockers. Yet her life is not her own. Under the strict control of her mother, her every move is decided ahead of time, even whom she’ll marry. But Birdie has dreams of her own. She wants to tell stories, write novels, make an impact on the world. When she discovers her mother has literally destroyed her dreams, she must choose between submission and security or forging a brand new way all on her own.

Tenley and Birdie are from two very different worlds. Yet when Tenley discovers Birdie’s manuscript, their lives intersect. Birdie’s words help Tenley find a way home. Tenley brings Birdie’s writing to the world.

Can two women separated by time help fulfill each other’s destiny?

Purchase your own copy here.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

rachel-hauck-HR-16-200x300

Rachel Hauck is an award winning, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author.

Her book The Wedding Dress was named Inspirational Novel of the Year by Romantic Times. She is a double RITA finalist, a Christy and Carol Award Winner.

Rachel sits on the Executive Board for American Christian Fiction Writers, and is the comical sidekick to Susan May Warren at the amazing My Book Therapy. She is a worship leader and speaker.

A graduate of Ohio State University with a degree in Journalism, Rachel is a devoted Ohio State football fan. She lives in sunny central Florida with her husband and ornery cat.

 

Find Rachel online: websiteFacebookTwitter
About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Writing Desk by Rachel Hauck

  1. carylkane says:

    Lovely review, Brittany!

  2. Pat vaughan says:

    I Loved this book but I loved all her books Thank you for writing An Christian faith it brings out

Leave a Reply

