Review & Giveaway: Many Sparrows by Lori Benton

Many SparrowsMany Sparrows is definitely one of the best books that I have read this year! These characters just pulled me in. I felt heartache, frustration, desperation, hope, peace, love, and much more. The author elicited so many emotions from me while I read this novel.

I loved the two main characters in this story. I was amazed as I watched Clare’s growth throughout the novel. There were times, early on in the story, when Clare really struggled with controlling her reactions. She had to go through a lot and I was so impressed with what the author taught her on this journey. Many of the things that Clare had to learn were taught to her by Jeremiah. He had his own struggles, as well. I loved learning about him and seeing how he grew. The main characters and many of the side characters captured my attention and made this book one that I could hardly set down.

Finally, the author made me feel like I was really back in time while reading Many Sparrows. I was absolutely immersed in the time period, the customs, and the wildness of the setting. I highly recommend this wonderful novel!

(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Many SparrowsEither she and her children would emerge from that wilderness together, or none of them would…

In 1774, the Ohio-Kentucky frontier pulses with rising tension and brutal conflicts as Colonists push westward and encroach upon Native American territories. The young Inglesby family is making the perilous journey west when an accident sends Philip back to Redstone Fort for help, forcing him to leave his pregnant wife Clare and their four-year old son Jacob on a remote mountain trail.
When Philip does not return and Jacob disappears from the wagon under the cover of darkness, Clare awakens the next morning to find herself utterly alone, in labor and wondering how she can to recover her son…especially when her second child is moments away from being born.

Clare will face the greatest fight of her life, as she struggles to reclaim her son from the Shawnee Indians now holding him captive. But with the battle lines sharply drawn, Jacob’s life might not be the only one at stake. When frontiersman Jeremiah Ring comes to her aid, can the stranger convince Clare that recovering her son will require the very thing her anguished heart is unwilling to do—be still, wait and let God fight this battle for them?

Be sure to check out the giveaway below.

Lori Benton is giving away one autographed copy of Many Sparrows here on the blog.

Or, you can purchase a copy here.

Click on the graphic below to enter to win an autographed copy of Many Sparrows by Lori Benton.

*U.S. addresses only due to shipping costs

*Winner announced on blog and emailed on 9/3/17.

Many Sparrows Giveaway

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

LORI_1(0662)--WEBSIZE_MP

Lori Benton was raised east of the Appalachian Mountains, surrounded by early American history going back three hundred years. Her novels transport readers to the eighteenth century, where she brings to life the Colonial and early Federal periods of American history. When she isn’t writing, reading, or researching, Lori enjoys exploring the Oregon wilderness with her husband. She is the author of Burning Sky, recipient of three Christy Awards, The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn, and The Wood’s Edge.

Connect with Lori: websiteFacebookTwitter, and Pinterest.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, contest, giveaway, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Review & Giveaway: Many Sparrows by Lori Benton

  1. Jennifer Bretsch says:

    So, so excited to read this book! Thank you for the great review and giveaway!

  2. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    The Woods Edge is on my Goodreads list but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. This would be my first Lori Benton book should I win. Thank you for the giveaway!

  3. Susan Cornwell says:

    Great review. Can’t wait to read this book.

  4. Candice Valdez says:

    I have read all of Lori Benton’s books and I can’t wait to read this one. I love her writing!

  5. fishingjan says:

    I have not read any YET.

  6. MH says:

    Sounds like such an interesting book. Thanks for the review and the giveaway.

  7. I love all of Lori’s books! Many Sparrows is my top favorite book this year. ❤️

  8. What a great giveaway for a talented writer. I haven’t read any of her books and would love to read one of her books someday. Congrats on such a great sounding book.

  9. Joan Arning says:

    I have not read any of Lori’s books but have some on my TBR list!

  10. diannekc says:

    I have not read any of Lori Benton’s book. I really enjoyed the description of the book “Many Sparrows” . I like reading early American historical fiction and this book seems to cover that time period.

  11. Anne L. Rightler says:

    I’ve been reading such good things about this book. Can’t wait to read it! Thank you for sharing about it.

  12. Donna McCoy says:

    Can’t wait to read this book. I enjoy historical fiction, it’s my favorite reading genre. I thank you for sharing this book in a giveaway. You are a new author to me, so I am anxious to read one of your books. Blessings Donna

  13. Paula says:

    I have the first two books in the series but haven’t read them yet. I had some others to read for an obligation. This would be great to finish out my set. I love historicals!

    • Brittany says:

      Hi Paula, Just wanted you to know that this one is a stand alone, so no worries about the set you have. Her first two books are stand alone, followed by a two book set, then Many Sparrows is a stand alone. They are all wonderful! Happy reading!

  14. Merry says:

    I have not read any of Lori’s books yet

  15. Donna McCoy says:

    I have been wanting to read this book. I love reading historical novels and am thankful for the giveaway you have posted. Lori is a new author to me also and would love to read any one of her books. God Bless.

  16. Haley Resseguie says:

    I can’t wait to read this book! I have loved all of Lori’s books and I know this one will be just as great!

  17. emilee says:

    I love Lori’s books!

  18. Vivian Furbay says:

    What an awesome story. Would love to read this books to find out if she gets her son back and what happened to her husband.

  19. Trixi says:

    I have not read any books by Lori (yet) and I know I am missing something good 🙂 Thanks for the chance to remedy that by winning a copy of Many Sparrows!

  20. donnabrookmyer says:

    Ii haven’t read any of Lori’s books yet but hope to do so soon! Thank for the giveaway.

  21. Rebecca Maney says:

    Lori Benton is one of my favorite authors and “Many Sparrows” deserves every one of those five stars. She even mentions a very distant relative of mine in this book, and gave me a title to read that will give me more background on my own family tree. Great book!

  22. Susan Wilson says:

    I have read Lori Benton books and she is a phenomenal story teller!! Thanks for the chance to win an autographed copy of Many Sparrows!!

  23. I haven’t read any of Lori’s books yet but would love to read this one. Thanks for the giveaway!

  24. pattymh2000 says:

    I am not sure where I discovered Burning Sky, but it is one My favorite historical fiction books! I’ve read each of her subsequent books, but I think Burning Sky I is still my favorite.

  25. I loved The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn! I have her others on my TBR list 🙂

  26. A Friend HIGHLY recommends this one! I’m DYING to read it! 😉

  27. A Friend HIGHLY recommends this one! I’m DYING to read it! 😉 I haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of Lori’s books yet!

  28. Pam K. says:

    I’ve read all of Lori’s prior books and absolutely loved them. I’m really looking forward to reading Many Sparrows. Thanks for the giveaway and the chance to win.

  29. Brenda Murphree says:

    I can’t wait to get this book. It sounds like it’s going to be a great one. Thanks for the giveaway.

  30. Brenda Murphree says:

    BTW I have all of your books and I have preordered this new one but I haven’t had a chance to read them yet. When I can get started on them I think I will binge read.

  31. I love Lori’s novels and have read them all. She is one of my auto-buy authors and I can’t wait to read Many Sparrows

  32. Bree NarnianWarHorse says:

    I’ve read The Woods Edge and it’s sequel and was amazed by how much they pulled me back into an era very little is written fairly or realistically about. Not to mention how enjoyable it is to just read Lori’s writing for the pure pleasure of seeing how richly and masterfully she’s woven her words together. I know of very few other authors I’ve enjoyed that way, and none of them write historical fiction. I’m so looking forward to reading more of Lori’s books!!

Leave a Reply

