Review: Fatal Winter by Lyn Cote

Although Fatal Winter is book three in the Northern Shore Intrigue series, it can be read as a stand alone. Having read the first two books in the series, I enjoyed returning to the small town community and catching up with a few characters from the earlier books.

The action started right from the beginning of the story and had me trying to determine a motive for Ginger’s murder and the continuing break ins occurring around town.

The author did a good job of showing the importance of a loving and supportive family, as well as how guilt can eat away at a person’s happiness.

( 4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are my own.


In a small town where murder never happens, the unthinkable does happen. And two people with a tragic history must work together to protect their families before another life is taken~

Bookstore owner, Sylvie Patterson has a dark past with Detective Ridge Matthews. And hidden pain over the long ago tragedy that marked them both.

But he’s only aware of part of her secret feelings. Because of the past, she knows she has no future with him. Now Sylvie’s cousin Ginger returns home from Alaska from studying whales. She’s to write her PhD dissertation from her research. The evening Ginger arrives home, she ends their last conversation with these cryptic words: Sylvie, I am going to wow you with a big surprise tomorrow! Finding Ginger lying dead at the foot of the stairs is not any surprise anyone would ever want.
Ridge had come to town on a family matter. When he and Sylvie discover the body, as a state homicide detective, he’s ordered to stay and solve the murder. Murders don’t happen in small town Winfield—and he can’t get a break on the case. He’d wanted to leave town almost immediately but the case drags on. Break-ins and odd occurrences—most connected to Sylvie and her family—keep him in town, unable to get a break. More and more he’s forced into contact with Sylvie and more and more the barriers between them start to crumble.

When Detective Matthews fails to discover any motive or solid clues for her cousin’s murder, Sylvie refuses to believe that she might be next. What if she’s wrong…
Don’t miss the exciting ending to this northwoods murder mystery!

Book 1 Precarious Summer
Book 2 Bitter Autumn
Book 3 Fatal Winter
Book 4 Beneath Northern Lights

Purchase your own copy here.



USA Today bestselling author, Lyn Cote has written over 45 books. A Romance Writers of America RITA finalist and an American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award winner, Lyn writes contemporary romance, romantic suspense and historical novels. No matter which kind of story, her brand “Strong Women, Brave Stories” comes through.

Her most recent achievement is being added to Romance Writers of America’s Honor Roll for bestselling authors. She lives in a lakeside cottage the northwoods of Wisconsin with her comfy husband and two adorable cats.

Lyn’s brand is Strong Women, Brave Stories because her heroines are women who don’t just take what life hands them but fight for a better way with God’s help. Also most of her stories feature a multi-cultural cast of characters and authentic detail whether it is a contemporary or historical story.

Website  Facebook  Twitter  Goodreads

About Brittany

As a homeschooling mom and avid reader, I get great joy through reading and reviewing books. I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I also review sweet, clean fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, book review, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.