Christmas in July – The Winter Souls Series Book Tour!

ABOUT THE BOOKS

A SOUL AS COLD AS FROST

“Merry Christmas to all! And to all a good fright…”

The Quarrel of Sword and Bone was a death sentence for anyone who stepped into the arena with the deranged Queen, whose soul had crisped to frost in an age long since past.

Sixteen-year-old Helen Bell understood tragedy better than most kids growing up. She knew what it was like to wear clothes from donation bins and be mocked by the beautiful girls in high school. She thought those brutal experiences made her ready for anything, but she wasn’t ready for this.

After an eccentric girl opens Helen’s eyes to let her see the realm of Winter—a world with intersects tucked carefully into the cracks of our own, where monarchs have risen and fallen, it’s forbidden to mention the name of The Dead King, and the currency is gold rings—Helen discovers things are far from ordinary in Winter. After trying to deny the existence of a disrupting train horn ringing in her ears for days, Helen receives a mysterious summons from a group who call themselves “The Crimson Court” to enter into The Quarrel of Sword and Bone—a traditional duel performed before one thousand witnesses that leaves only one survivor—and she’s forced to finally pay attention to the handsome boy who’s been following her around with a warning on his tongue.

When the arrival of wicked villains propels Helen into the heart of Winter where there’s no going back, she finds herself being pursued by something else too—a whispered prayer battling on her behalf, and an ancient Truth that breathes living words of wisdom—the very wisdom forgotten by the Rime Folk when their disunity drove them to draw lines in the snow in an age of the past.

Helen must find a way out, or she’ll be dragged into the arena to face the crooked Queen head on before a crowd ready to watch her die.

The Winter Souls Series blends action and warm Christmas traditions, bringing the old forgotten tales of the season to life with new and grittier versions of famous characters out of old holiday legends, folklore, and myths; such as St. Nicholas, the Snow Queen, the Scrooge, and the Nutcracker.

A Soul as Cold as Frost is Jennifer Kropf’s debut novel, ideal for fans of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis, and The Nutcracker and the Four Realms by Meredith Rusu and Ashleigh Powell

Book Trailerhttps://youtu.be/XqVrcHH31lA

A HEART AS RED AS PAINT

“Deck the halls with bells and folly…”

Helen Bell has changed since facing off with Mara Rouge in the Quarrel of Sword and Bone. But so has Winter.

When a Timepiece crosses the intersect to give Helen a set of three warnings in the form of a puzzle, she’s forced to re-enter the world she thought she might never see again to solve it before she meets a deadly end.

But things are different in Winter. Things that were once proudly colourful have been painted red, and the Patrolman who swore to always be there for her has his own demons to face. Helen is forced to hide in plain sight by impersonating a Red Kingdom celebrity, all to follow the leads and solve the Timepiece’s puzzle before she’s taken and Winter’s last Carrier of Truth is silenced forever.

A Heart as Red as Paint is the second installment of The Winter Souls Series; a faith-based Christmas collection for teens, with characters from old holiday legends and folklore.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW
An Interview with Jennifer Kropf

What Inspired you to write The Winter Souls Series?


When I was younger, my dad used to read The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis to me and my siblings. We bonded over books and spent hours unplugged from the rest of the world, completely engulfed in a great fantasy story. When I had my first son, I wanted to have a similar experience where I could read to my kids before bed each night, and since I love Christmas, I thought I’d create a story that we could read each night of the holidays during the month of December, leading up to Christmas. I’ve been a fan of The Chronicles of Narnia all my life, so that series had a strong influence in helping to create how mine turned out.


Who are your favourite authors? 


My favourite authors are C.S. Lewis for the life he lived and his passion for God and writing, and J.M. Barrie for introducing me to Peter Pan and Neverland, and Stephanie Garber for giving me the Caraval experience.


What else do you have planned for this series?


As of right now, I’m just excited for A Heart as Red as Paint (Book 2 of The Winter Souls Series) to be released in November. I do have some other fun gems in the works that take place in the realm of Winter, including a full-length book retelling of The Nutcracker. I’m also working on two short story collections that I hope to start releasing in 2022, along with Book 3 of the Winter Souls Series which will be released next year, and Book 4 which will be released in 2023. Lots of spin off books!


How can we stay updated on your books?


If you’d like to sign up for my emails, you can do so via my website at www.JenniferKropf.com
I also have a “street team” which is for anyone who’d like to help spread the word about my books as they come out. I give away plenty of bookish prizes. It’s called the Winter Woods Book Club, and it’s a group on facebook which you can find via the Winter Woods Book Club website here: https://winterwoodsbookclub.wordpress.com/

About Jennifer Kropf

Jennifer Kropf spent her college years bored to death (nearly) in marketing and advertising classes in college, and graduated only to discover once and for all that her true passion is telling stories. She lives amidst lush Ontario farmland with her husband and three kids, reads obsessively, and writes even more obsessively. She thinks tea is gross and coffee is great and secretly wishes Peter Pan will show up on some cool summer evening and ask if she wants to visit Neverland.

About Brittany

As a homeschooling mom and avid reader, I get great joy through reading and reviewing books. I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I also review sweet, clean fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in book, Christian Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Christmas in July – The Winter Souls Series Book Tour!

  1. lyndseyhall says:

    Reblogged this on Lyndsey Hall | Author and commented:
    My lovely friend Jennifer Kropf is currently on a blog tour, celebrating Christmas in July to spread the love about her upcoming release, A Heart as Red as Paint, book two in the Winter Souls series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.